Instagram Tips and Tricks

I am still obsessed with Instagram – are you? I think it’s a great way to capture small, every-day moments that you might otherwise forget. I love looking back over my photos and remembering when I took them! Here are a few tips for how to make your Instagrams shine.

Use your phone’s camera app to take your photo, then import into Instagram. The built-in camera app has way more capability than the Instagram camera, including zoom, focus, and exposure.

Bonus tip – ever had a photo turn out poorly because your subject was backlit and appeared too dark? On the iPhone, touch and hold your finger on your subject to lock the focus and exposure.

When you bring your photos in from the camera app, you will have the ability to zoom in on your subject – use it! Cut out anything unimportant in the background and showcase the details. Your photos will have so much more interest!

Lux, an enhancement feature represented by a sun icon, enhances the light in your photo. It works best on photos shot outdoors in natural light. It does not work well for indoor photos with artificial light, photos of food, or photos of people.

Tilt-shift, represented by the rain drop icon, places focus on one area of your photo and blurs the rest. You can choose either a circular focus (resize by pinching your fingers) or a rectangular focus (turn it by placing a finger on either end and spinning). Use tilt-shift to highlight one area of your photo or just add a little interest. You can also try blurring your entire photo by making the circular focus as small as you can and sliding it off to one corner.

Once you’ve applied either or both of the above features, you can apply one of the Instagram filters. To preview, tap the filter button at the bottom of your screen. Some filters have a frame attached, which you can toggle off with the frame button in the top left.

• Want to filter your photos without posting them? Switch your phone into “airplane mode” in your settings – any photos you edit will be saved to your phone.

• To quickly “like” a photo in your feed, tap twice on the photo.

• To easily reply to someone’s comment, tap and hold on their username, then click “mention user.”

• Combine the Instagram features with other apps! Check out a few of my favorite iPhone apps.

Fun web tools for Instagram:

  • Statigram: view statistics on your photos, share your photos on other platforms
  • Webstagram: view your photos and your feed
  • Instagrid: view your photos in a neat gallery format

Have any tips to add to my list? I would love to hear them!

This entry was posted in photography, technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

233 Responses to Instagram Tips and Tricks

  1. Clare says:

    Thanks for the tips! Unfortunately, the Android app is different (which I was wondering about) so it’s missing some of the features. I don’t have the option to do the tilt shift feature. Also, the instagram camera has the same options (zoom/exposure) as my regular camera does too. Interesting to see the differences….I wish I had tilt shift!

    • Interesting to learn about the differences! I am hoping that the acquisition by Facebook will be good for Instagram – I think I read that Instagram is run by only 12 people or something? No wonder it’s difficult for them to put out new features!

    • The tilt shift is an excellent phone.

    • Nishit says:

      On Android, you can check out lots of free apps like Little Photo, FxCamera, PicsArt Photo Studio etc., which give you all the effects and filters you’d expect from Instagram.

      I use Little Photo usually. It does have somewhat of a learning curve, but it is quite flexible and frequently updated.

      I wonder why Google doesn’t release a mobile version of Picasa, which is what I used to add lots of effects to my photos a long time before camera phones and touch screens became popular.

      @Kira Thanks for the tips, they will be helpful when I try Instagram out. Your photos are superb! I like the way you capture colours!

    • I have the same problem with my android phone. It’s kind of sad. Like we’re just an afterthought.

    • shoeboxgirl says:

      I agree, the Android version of Instagram is really lacking in features. I personally recommend Pixlr-O-Matic. Soooo many filters to choose from and we don’t have to crop our photos into squares but the downside is we can’t adjust the brightness / contrast (which I think is a minor flaw since I can adjust it with my camera setting before editing it using the app).

    • Chris says:

      Clare – Android may not give you all of the same options as the iPhone stock camera app, but there are many camera apps in the market that can replace your stock camera for shooting and editing images before importing them into Instagram. I really like QuickSnap if I just want to take a quick photo and edit it later. Starts up fast, takes fast pictures. That’s all it does, but it does them well. And I like Little Photo for editing and playing with pictures. Lots of options, easy to use. There are lots more options, most of them free, so I’m sure there’ll be one you’ll like.

    • onlyvic says:

      I feel the same way too. but nevertheless, im happy to have Instagram on my Android phone. Fingers crossed for when Facebook finally takes over, cant wait for any developments on the app.

  2. Maria says:

    Mind officially blown. I didn’t think to use the camera app and THEN instagram. Thanks for all these fab tips lady! I will definitely be making use of them asap!

  3. I use followgram to share my photos/see them online :) You can create your own vanity URL as well to share with people! Very easy. Love this blog! xoxo

    • Melissa, I had heard of Followgram but when I tried to register to take a look last night, I ran into a few issues so I didn’t include it in the post – I’ll have to try again and check it out – thanks for the tip!

  4. Kristy says:

    Thanks for posting about the airplane mode option. There are times I want to use the Instragram filters but not post the photo.

  5. Frankie says:

    You couldn’t have more perfect timing lady! I just downloaded the new instragram for android ap this morning. As Clare already mentioned, it doesn’t have all the same features, which stinks because the ones it’s missing are awesome. I already followed you but if you wanted to know, I’m tobefrankie. :)

  6. hersunday says:

    I just got instagram on my Android and I am loving it! There are still some things I need to learn about it though to get the most out of it.

  7. sarahelana says:

    These tips were awesome! I just started using instagram and I’m super obsessed. I’ve been wondering if there’s a way to filter photos without sharing them, so thanks so much for that!

  8. Jessica Lynn says:

    I heart instagram so much. I didn’t know that about airplane mode, so you basically just made my entire day. Just today I edited a photo, published it, and quickly deleted it after it went live, because I didn’t want it on Instagram. Lol. So much work when all I had to do was flip it to airplane mode :)

  9. ericamoss says:

    I echo the sentiments from the other commenters — I thought this was going to be another “Instagram 101″-type post, but I actually learned a handful of new things; thanks!

  10. Lola says:

    Kira, thank you soo much for this wonderful post ! I thought I knew all there was to know with Instagram, but you’ve taught me some more tips that I cannot wait to use :)
    I must add you to my Instagram asap !

    Lola xox

  11. loveandrenovations says:

    Airplane mode is genius!!!!! That’s an amazing tip – I’m so excited about that, haha. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Alexandra says:

    Fab tips!!! Seriously excited to take a new look at Instagram {and start following you!!!}!

    xxx

  13. Hi!!!

    So glad I found your blog! I´m loving it. Visit us if you want to. We´re bloging all the way from sweden ;) Great place this is, anyway! Just felt like encouraging you a little! :)
    love!
    /ellen

  14. Pingback: Instagram Update « Sarah Elana

  15. Such great advice! Still learning my way through this…but I absolutely adore the filters and “tilt shifting.” AWESOME!

  16. Nela says:

    very professionally done

  17. Honie Briggs says:

    I just discovered Instagram (I’m always late to the party) and I agree with you, it does become an obsession. Thanks for the info. It’s great that this post was freshly pressed or I may not have ever found your blog. VERY nice pics! Feel free to check out my photos on IG @honiebriggs or stop by my blog.

  18. beckscostello says:

    I love instagram. It really does make bad photos look good and good photos look great! Great post.

  19. Wes B. says:

    This is going to help me for when I need a camera throughout my career (which I know I will :p).

  20. Sent this to a couple of Photographer friends of mine. I may have to download this app for all the pictures of my cats and dog. Because the internet needs more cats…

  21. I just downloaded this app after reading quite a few posts on your blog! I love your blog, it is interesting and laid out great! Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  22. I moseyed on over here from freshly pressed, congratulations!

    And these tricks are so helpful — nicely done girlfriend.

  23. Kristen says:

    I just got Instagram on my phone (I have an android) and I love using it. Thanks for the tips and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  24. wrands says:

    Thanks for the tips!

  25. didiita says:

    Hi! I’m so happy I found your blog! Not only is this post really awesome, but I’ve enjoyed reading other posts as well! :)
    Have you tried Postagram or even PostalPix? I think they are the coolest add on to Instagram ever. They work really fast! (I have them downloaded on my iPhone, so I don’t know if they work elsewhere.)
    With PostalPix you just select your instagram photos and you can get them printed and delivered to your door! They have various sizes and they look GREAT!
    With Postagram, you select the instagram picture you want and then you can send a postcard to anyone! They really print it out, with whatever text you want and send it to them. So next time you’re on a cool vacation: Make your own postcards!!! GENIUS if you ask me! :)

    • PoshPinkGeek says:

      There are tonnes of other apps that lead to Instagram, I just read your comment seeing as it’s the last one, near the comment box. Will try out some of these apps. Hipster is awesome too, turns your photos into a Postcard :) I quite the collage apps like Diptic & PicFrame that go on to Instagram.

  26. PoshPinkGeek says:

    This is awesome! I’m still so in love with Instagram, it really sucks that Facebook bought them out though :(

  27. goshh! I loove instagram. Wedding photographer here, bought an iPad, downloaded Instagram and ADDICTED overnight. This post is so well written… Sharing nooow!

  28. Lolita Lane says:

    Omg, I’m still obsessed with Instagram too! I never really knew what the lux icon was for. Thanks!

  29. Franco says:

    Instagram is the best invention ever!

  30. Byrdie Grey says:

    Thank you, these were so simple and so helpful! I just started using Instagram. I’m really excited to try out these tips.

  31. Sarah Harris says:

    What a great tutorial! I feel like a pro now and can’t wait to go crazy over the weekend with photos! Love your section header graphics too! Cute!

  32. juliannayu says:

    I love instagram! Thanks for the detailed explanation with the beautiful snapshots. I didn’t know about Lux, toggling off the frames and didn’t think of turning my phone into airplane mode to save my photo on my phone.

  33. rmk104 says:

    Very cool tips. If you don’t have an iphone can you do use this program with photos you take from a regular digital camera?

  34. Arindam says:

    Thanks for these really nice tips ! I will take a look at instagram soon.

  35. Great post! I’m a Instagram lover too.

  36. twaQL says:

    Great Post. I wish they had this for Video as well

  37. Awesome tips! Thanks so much, pretty lady! Very appreciated

  38. Thanks for this post – I wasn’t using instagram to it’s full potential!

  39. Spoon Feast says:

    Gotta love Freshly Pressed for being able to find blogs like this! Congratulations and thanks for the tips. Quite useful.

  40. katiestew says:

    Never knew about tilt shift, awesome!

  41. Stephie says:

    Thank you!!!! No seriously. Thank you.

  42. divinecrone says:

    Thank you for the helpful tips… will have to take a look @ the app now

  43. auntie k says:

    Thanks for the tips! I’m still a instagram newbie so this is super helpful!

  44. Constance V. Walden says:

    This is a beautiful blog. thanks for sharing. Connie

  45. trinachka says:

    Reblogged this on Under an Artichoke and commented:
    This is just the kind of article I need! I barely know how to work my Instagram to full capacity, let alone other photography apps like Hipstamatic. Realistically I’ll only ever have just my iPhone camera on me, so I love to see articles on how best to use it.

  46. mrsbuenavida says:

    Totally cute blog! I’ll be following :) I was freshly pressed too.

  47. This is a very well constructed blog post. Congrats on FP! I would love to know how you got the lovely font graphics into your site. I was FP’ed yesterday for a Hipstamatic post on Hong Kong so I appreciate your use of iPhone app very much.
    Cheers and Congrats!
    M

  48. xuantian says:

    Thanks soooooooo much! You illustrated in such a clear way. I am following and reblogging! Keep up the good work! :)

  49. xuantian says:

    Reblogged this on The Path to Chinese Characters and commented:
    Well, this post is not quite related to our Chinese learning topic. But.. I hope you can enjoy this well-organized and clearly delivered post as I do, while learning some really practical tricks of Instagram!!!

  50. wtmontana says:

    This is quite a good read and shedding some further light on the deep abyss of Instagram haha! Great work, thanks.

  51. mizrhi says:

    Your post is so timely! I only just discovered instagram last week, and the one time I used it I got scared so thank you :)

  52. thuyanhngx says:

    Reblogged this on Thuyanhngx's Blog and commented:
    Useful way to use and manage the Instagram :)

  53. Reblogged this on thehiltonburnellfiles and commented:
    I got Instagram on my iPod. I know how to use it though. Great app ever.

  54. Si Tuong says:

    Hi :) Thankyou for these great tips, I’m so addicted to Instagram too! I’ve recently discovered PicStitch. It’s an app that lets you combine a few photos together then you can export it over to Instagram to add a cool filter! Plus its free which is always a bonus (everyone loves freebies!) xxx

  55. Pingback:      One of … « Remarkably Renee

  56. Pingback: Friday the 20th of April Evening Message for Joey « Cyber Musings by Dr. G

  57. Reblogged this on Tanisha Lynne.

  58. Your blog is beautiful!!!!! :-) Great article, so I tweeted it out. You have a very artistic eye. :-)

  59. Heidi says:

    Great tips :) I use Instagram quite a lot. I actually didn’t know you can do the Focus/White Balance lock on the regular phone app. I usually take the photo with Camera+ first though. Thanks for the post. :D

  60. rachelocal says:

    Well done! Instagram is my “new” favorite thing. Thanks so much for the tips. I learned some new things!

  61. hannna says:

    the borders on some filters were really getting to me, thanks to this, I now know it’s removable! thank you!

  62. Oh, I’m an Instagram Fan… Thanks for the tips… esp Lux, etc:- Keep posting xoxo !!

  63. geelongcatsfan says:

    great post!

  64. Nice tips…Written very simply…makes it easy to understand also..

  65. d_vaz says:

    I don’t have instagram, but if I do get it, I’ll keep these in mind

  66. Summer says:

    Reblogged this on Summer.

  67. meganchapple says:

    Thank you for this. I’m doing Project 365 on my blog and I’ve never been great with photography. Not a lot of the photos are good but I’ve always blamed my camera for that. Thanks for the zoom tip. I’ll use it in future!

  68. Reblogged this on My travel journey in Australia☺.

  69. sultanhaider says:

    very nice blog and your theme is very attractive.

  70. prakashwagle says:

    Thanks for your tips I have just started to use Instagram. I liked your tip one with aeroplane mode on. :)

  71. Tammy says:

    Thank you! Terrific article and I love Instagram, too!

  72. Kat ness says:

    a very mery helpful article! Thank u!

  73. Marti Parham says:

    Cool site. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed!

  74. jademjems says:

    Love this! thanks for the tips, sure it’ll make my photos look so much better now!

  75. SimplySage says:

    I use Creative Memories photo editing software and it is wonderful and so easy. But I’ve heard so much about instagram and am looking into it. Thanks so much for these great tips!

  76. Megan Mitchell says:

    Reblogged this on The Dragonfly Affect and commented:
    I love taking pictures on instagram. My life through my eyes :)

  77. I wish they had an option for panoramic!

  78. nissilamb says:

    This is fantastic!

  79. donationcan says:

    Thanks for the info. I’m new to Instagram and still haven’t figured it out.

    Donation-Can.com

  80. Great tips! I am soon going to get with the millenium (better late than never) and upgrade my ancient/retro flip phone to an i-phone (esp b/c of the built-in camera that I’ve heard so much about), so I LOVE your tips! Thank you! :-) P.S. Great blogsite! The content flows really well.

  81. caseyzamco says:

    Reblogged this on caseyzamco and commented:
    great info!

  82. abichica says:

    OMG!! awesome post, thanks so much for posting..I have never really knew how to use instagram, i’m just starting to use it right now..thanks for the great tips.. :-D

  83. Jen says:

    These are great tips! I was so excited when Android got Instagram a few weeks ago. Just in time for me to switch to an iphone. :)

  84. Thank you for the airplane mode tip. Very useful! And topical. We urge our small biz clients to use Instagram to share content. Here’s a fun Instagram-use tip: Have a photo contest built on a simple related topic, i.e. a season or place. Then, ask applicants to submit their photos to Instagram using a hashtag created using the small biz name. Fun times! Thanks for the tut!

  85. Townmouse says:

    I haven’t looked at or even considered Instagram – but I will now. In fact I haven’t done any of the amazing, whizzy, wonderful things that you and the others who’ve commented have but I think your blog looks beautiful. Really, really lovely and a delight to the eye. And I love all the suggestions. Well done, you!

  86. I was really bummed out after downloading the Instagram app to my Android phone. It doesn’t have nearly the features that the iPhone app has. It’s clearly an afterthought. I will have to experiment with your tips and see what I can make work on my phone.

  87. Lamma Jamma says:

    Reblogged this on LammaJamma and commented:
    Download Instagram (if you havent already) then read this!

  88. What a helpful post! I’ve been using Instagram for months now and didn’t even realize all of the things to utilize within the app! I love your page and am a huge fan of the Primp My Blog!!

  89. Thanks for posting about the airplane mode option. There are times I want to use the Instragram filters but not post the photo.

  90. Instagram is taking over the world, and I am completely okay with that.
    I agree with you, I quite fancy looking over my older posts and remembering that delicious treat or lazy days at the beach.

  91. I love Instagram and this is such a good little tips and tricks article! Brilliant :D

  92. cbandkona says:

    Thanks for the tips. I actually stopped using Instagram b/c I couldn’t figure out how to do a few things including how to save a photo but not share it. Reading your post was great inspiration to try this app again.

  93. pixelogist says:

    great tips. i recently started using instagram on android, its a great app. so simple n does a great job. who says mobile phones cant take good pics too?! i recently did a post on mobile phone apps..the best ones in my opinion, u guys might be interested.. do stop by at pixelogist.me n check it out :)

  94. thomlucci says:

    I like this blog. Unfortunately, I have only a Blackberry Curve, but with downloaded apps I can do a little creativity with them. I am a retired professional photographer, btw. Nice blog. :) I posted a very small slice of some of the wedding pictures I did as a prof wddg photog.

    Have a great day!

  95. Tra My Dang says:

    THis is great! i never really understood the hype over Instagram but will try out al these tips

  96. I didn’t know Instagram has a tilt shift feature! I used another app to blur my photos except the focus. Now this is one helpful blog. Thanks! :)

  97. Reblogged this on Toned Down & Vintage and commented:
    This post made me consider reblogs. I am an avid Instagram user, but haven’t tinkered with the app with enough curiosity. Having shifted to my built-in camera for taking the shot itself, I still wasn’t curious enough to find that Instagram has its own tilt shift feature (so I use Camera360 for the blurs). Someone knows here what she’s doing:

  98. Prabaharan E says:

    As a big fan of instagram normally i do all the tips which you said.. Here is a extra tip for you. Install pixl-ro-matic app in that you can do amazing effects which is not in instagram. Then import that photo in instagram and do your magic. Final output amazing freaky photo for you..

  99. dannyestrada says:

    Reblogged this on dannyestrada and commented:
    check out these pretty cool Instagram tips!

  100. Tecantikan says:

    This is great! Thanks xo

  101. I may have NO Instagram, but anyways, this would be helpful! (:

  102. guenny says:

    Thanks for the tips. I didn’t know this until today – – – > • Want to filter your photos without posting them? Switch your phone into “airplane mode” in your settings – any photos you edit will be saved to your phone.

    Thanks again! :)

  103. Sum says:

    Amazing tips! Thank you! I can’t believe I’ve been using Instagram and didn’t know about the Lux or Tilt Shift. I can’t wait to use these tips. Love your blog, too! :)

  104. Nurse Frugal says:

    Can’t wait to try these tips once I download instagram!!! Thanks for sharing!

  105. onlytruffle says:

    Reblogged this on onlytruffle and commented:
    Handy! :D

  106. Samantha says:

    I love this, these are some great tips :) I wondered why Lux looked so terrible on photos of people, now it makes more sense. Do you know how to do the multi-panel photos in Instagram, or is that combined with another app?

    Great post, and Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

  107. Shafiq says:

    I like you way you design & post any blog. :)

  108. Karen says:

    Reblogged this on The Ponderings Of BlazerKaz aka Karen.

  109. Awsome stuff u do !!!!!

  110. Is that some kind of website or just an application, is that available for android?

  111. Thank you so much for posting this tutorial! I’ve been meaning to try this out and now I have some direction.

  112. very nice pics………

  113. greglabustro says:

    Reblogged this on greglabustro and commented:
    I Love Instagram!

  114. I just pinned your post on my Pinterest board. Do you get a message when that happens?

  115. Reblogged this on ッ David Undetiwan and commented:
    Very useful tips and tricks for taking pictures for Instagram! I’m very pleased with this post! Wonderful done!

  116. Sara says:

    Nice! I just shared on my facebook page.

  117. Ashee says:

    beautifull…..

  118. cheeho0625 says:

    So great that I found your blog.I can upgrade my photografhy skill in no time^_^

  119. jensine says:

    Thanks for all the tips and tricks

  120. koalisabear says:

    Reblogged this on ladekoalisa and commented:
    I found this so useful I had to reblog it!
    Tout sur instagram !

  121. valentinedee says:

    I’m really out of this loop. I don’t even know what Instagram is. But I love your blog. It’s cute and fun.

    val

  122. troismommy says:

    Great tips! I sometimes use the camera first, if only to have a “regular” version of a photo before I make it “cool.” LOL Unfortunately, my iphone camera doesn’t zoom anymore, and I’m not sure why. It’s like it was updated and no longer zooms. I wonder what I can do about that.
    Cute blog! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  123. Carissa says:

    Reblogged this on thread of inspiration.

  124. Jen C says:

    Thanks for the tips! My daughters name is Kira. :)

  125. Whitney Rains says:

    awesome!

  126. Hamilton says:

    I’ll definitely be saving this post for future reference.

  127. CrochetQueen says:

    Thanks so much for the tips! I just started using Instagram on my boyfriend’s phone (I don’t have a smartphone) and I am using it for my blog pics. Now thanks to you they will be even better!

  128. ugo4cruz says:

    Reblogged this on Olatunde411's Blog and commented:
    Few tips on how to use instagram.

  129. Now my pictures will look much more awesome.
    Thank you.

  130. So helpful, thanks for the post!

  131. leanneregan says:

    I only just downloaded this app today so your post is brilliantly useful! Thank you :)

  132. thank’s for the tips! ;)

  133. Pingback: This week’s best reads « Jennifer Reid

  134. Have only just discovered Instagram… I know right?! But I love it, and have been using it to illustrate my poetry on my blog and to create story prompts for people to write from and it just makes all of it look so much cooler and user friendly. With your tips too I can just keep making it look better and better, thanks for sharing! Great blog by the way, love what you do! Congrats on being freshly pressed, you deserve it x

  135. yablogtherapy says:

    Your tips have been so helpful as I have just started experimenting with Instagram. I had no idea that I could import my camera photos onto the app. Love your blog!

  136. Pingback: some iPhone fun for ya « Roxem's Blog

  137. sharichelle says:

    Your blog looks awesome and inspiring. I installed Instagram a while back, but never really explored it. Thanks for the post :D

  138. Love it! Beautiful photos, beautiful blog, kudos!

  139. I love your post!! This made me upload a new photo of my cat using all of your tips! Especially Lux – I didn’t know about it (only just updated my app’s…oops) and it is a gem! Now i’m off to download the other apps you recommended! Thanks again :)

  140. siponi says:

    I love your post about instagram :) how wonderful! thank you for the tips! and my instagram id is tinghay :)

  141. ashee says:

    Great photos looks as cool …….

  142. Cass Leeya says:

    Reblogged this on heartconversations and commented: :)

  143. Reblogged this on Laura Moseley and commented:
    Thanks Kira!

  144. Ashagi Harahap says:

    Nice tips! I also use Tumblr as “Instagram gallery” to have better view on my Instagram post.

  145. Reblogged this on eighteenthousand.

  146. Thanks Kira! I was looking for a good app for my phone pics ~ especially now that picnik is no more.
    I wasn’t sure about Instagram but your pics look great!

  147. Alexander Maxham says:

    Reblogged this on iPhone Empire.

  148. Reblogged this on Content Reveler and commented:
    Instagram photos make great content. Check out Her New Leaf blog for a few tips on frame, focus, and features to take better photos.

  149. knownsecrets says:

    love this instagram is the best thing to use to make photos more eyecatching hey i would really appreciate it much if you come visit my blog im sort of using instagram also I promise it won’t be a waste of your time

  150. thurrnutspel says:

    Reblogged this on Thurrnutspel speaking.. and commented:
    This is helpful for the recent members! 👍

  151. FP says:

    Great post. Thanks. Especially liked being introduced to the apps at the end. Didn’t know about them, but will try them out.

  152. Reblogged this on paintboxtalks.

  153. Reblogged this on istipsandtricks and commented:
    I love instagram!- Try these tips!!

  154. Pingback: Somedays you just get lucky! | dry ink designs

  155. Kristen says:

    Reblogged this on Kids of the King and commented:
    Awesome tips!

  156. I am taking a dip in the Instagram pool because I liked this so much. Thanks. Now my bad photos have a chance to look “cool”.

  157. colchonero1903 says:

    Buen post

  158. shannmark says:

    I LOVE instagram and I learned so much! Thanks for the tips!!

  159. eskomedia says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    Roligt med Instagram och iPhone

  160. Thanks for the helpful tips. I just started using instagram and really like it! I didn’t know about the tilt. Thanks again.

  161. shakenjake75 says:

    Love this post! I have been trying to figure what all the fuss about Instagram is about. You’re suggestions are all very simply stated and effective. Thanks.

  162. Admin says:

    I’m addicted to Instagram, some great tips here. I just realized I always use the instagram camera instead of the iPhone cam…lesson learned! I have taken so many fun photos with that app, I don’t think I’ll ever tire of it.

  163. Joanna says:

    That is awesome! Thanks for the tips! I especially like the tear drop ones!

  164. MandeeRaye says:

    wow! you are so creative! I love your blog :)

  165. putuekaphotography says:

    Finally i know how to edit in instagram without posting it..
    thank you…..

  166. nurul says:

    Reblogged this on nurulisme and commented:
    nice :)

  167. Instagram is now also available for Android phones and tablets. I was not really keen to install it on my Samsung tab but after reading this post I think I will try this software. Thanks for sharing.

  168. Thanks Kira! Great tips! Maybe now I will post more pics on it now that I know how to use it properly :) Will lookout for you on there ;)

  169. Davidovicz says:

    I am absolutely addicted to Instagram. Thanks for your precious tips :)

  170. Ronja says:

    Thanks for sharing the tipps. I used to work with Pixlr-o-matic but have to try the Android Version of Instagram…

  171. LucridLucifel says:

    These are useful tips. Thank you.

  172. parwatisingari says:

    hi you have a duffer her but what is a instagram?

  173. annamae15 says:

    Hi! I’m absolutely obsessed with Instagram as well, great tips!
    I was just wondering if you could take a look at my WordPress blog because I’ve just started and it’s a blog that’s aimed for teens that want to start doing photography. I haven’t got any feedback yet and I REALLY need some because it’s also a project for school so if you (or anyone) would like to give me ANY feedback, ideas, tips, suggestions it would be SO appreciated!!! Thank you x

  174. The invention of Instagram is probably the best thing ever! The number of times that i’ve been stuck without a camera and there’s something worth capturing is insane and my phone saves me all the time! I love how you can tweak your pictures right there on the spot and up load them! I also use it for inspiration, it’s awesome seeing what other people put up! I love this post Thanks loads for the tips!!

  175. cea green says:

    i wish i had some tips for you, but i’ve been using instragram for months now and i feel like my mind just exploded, ha! thanks a bunch for the tips, xoxo

  176. tessa says:

    these are great tips! though i wish i could do all of them on my android phone haha

  177. LuckyPorcupine says:

    Thank you much for sharing!

  178. willowideas says:

    I have already downloaded instagram but very nice post

  179. the speech monster says:

    oooh thanks so much for the tips!!! love them!

  180. LOVE THIS!!! My son is 4 months old so pictures are a must in my family! Love the tips since I am not very tech savy!!! Keep up the helpful posts!

  181. WhitLikesFit says:

    Great post. I had no idea about the sun icon. Thanks

  182. o4owesome says:

    Reblogged this on o4owesome and commented:
    I think Instagram is the application I love the mostest on my iPhone, iBooks is a close second.

  183. C.D. says:

    I’m obsessed with Instagram too! Great blog and cool design, I love how it looks like!
    Thank you for sharing these tricks,
    Artphalt

  184. Reblogged this on Social Media CDN and commented:
    Great Tips & Tricks

  185. TBT says:

    Instagram is so addicting!

  186. Pingback: How to Get in on the Instagram Phenomenon | Who Design Today

  187. Raneem says:

    I am an instagram fan and I found these tips very interesting. Thank you for sharing!

  188. putrilicious says:

    Reblogged this on Putrilicious™ and commented:
    #Instagram

  189. Gezer says:

    Reblogged this on Addicted 2 Tech and commented:
    For those of you already using instagram here is a very nice and simple article with instagram tips & tricks. For those not using instagram yet, it’s time to join the instagram train ! ALL ABOARD !

  190. Great post! :) I love Instagram and this is a nice list of tips and tricks. I reblogged this on Such A Wonderful Life.

  191. thetechinews says:

    Reblogged this on The Techi News.

  192. terripham says:

    Reblogged this on wwtd? what would terripham do? and commented:
    AMAZING! THANK YOU!

  193. Great design. Thank you for the tricks and tips.

  194. Shaggygirl says:

    Reblogged this on Shaggygirl and commented:
    I love Instagram and this post is choc full of great tips!

Discuss!

