How to Make Guacamole: California Style

My friend Mark took these photos when he came to visit recently – he was fascinated by how we make guacamole! Fresh farmers market ingredients, herbs from the garden, and when we needed a lime or lemon for some tartness, I told him to go pick one from our tree in the yard! You really can’t beat that. ; )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to How to Make Guacamole: California Style

  1. haniemarie says:

    We pretty much do exactly the same except I never leave the pit in…

  2. jenkakio says:

    I LOVE So Cal’s guacamole. I feel like Hawai’i’s avocados have a slight sweetness to it. Where Cali’s has a slight richer fattier taste. I think Cali taste way better. Thanks for the recipe, I can’t wait to try it.

  3. Jessica Lynn says:

    I can’t even tell you what I would do for an avocado right now. Don’t get me started on how much I miss guac. I make it w/ an avocado, half an onion, lime juice, and a couple spoonfuls of chunky salsa. YUMMMM!

  4. joanne says:

    that is really cool! i love me some guacamole!!

  5. Tere Shake says:

    That looks so good! I have never tried it with lemon.. next time I’ll know! Thanks!

  6. Jessica says:

    Oh man, that looks so good. That’s how we make it at my parents’ house – straight from the garden.

  7. twigsforpigs says:

    Hi there! My name is Twiggy and I have nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. You do not have to accept, but if you do, here is the information: http://thatlittlepig.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/kreativity-at-best/

    You are such an inspiration. Thank you for blogging, Kira!

    Love, Twiggy

  8. Alyse says:

    Bahaha! Why are you so interesting?! I just spent over an hour browsing through your blog. It was certainly NOT a waste of time. I bet that being featured on WordPress.com’s main page has gotten you a lot of visits, huh? I especially LOVE your bloggiquette poste, but too bad after reading through a few pages of your posts I don’t have time to comment on all of them individually. :P Keep it up, because I’m certainly going to add you to my google reader! :P Thanks for blogging, and being so interesting. Our blogs have very little in common, but you write about things that interest me! :)

    PS: This guacamole makes my stomach growl! I’ve never made fresh guacamole. I’ve only ever just had the dry stuff that you mix with a couple of avocados. :)

    • Thank you for your sweet comment, Alyse! I really don’t think I’m any more interesting than the next girl, I have just learned to look at things differently and share them with the world! Anyway, I’m so glad you found me, I hope you’ll keep following!

  9. Angela says:

    Hi! I just discovered your blog…it’s super-cute and easy to read. Love it! Guac is one of my favorite foods ever so I’ll have to give this quick version a try. I usually go traditional, and I’ve learned a great tip: dice a red onion into small pieces, squeeze lime juice over it and let it sit while you do the rest of the work. The acid gets rid of the bite.

  10. Saar Dockx says:

    I’m trying the lemon next time too! Such a great idea!!

  11. samgonewild96 says:

    I love guacamole, is delicious! Makes me so hungry just looking at the photos. By the way I love your blog very creative and orgiinal :)

Discuss!

