LA Adventures: Gourmet Food Trucks

Thanks so much for bearing with me last week! My parents and my brother were in town so I spent the week touring around Los Angeles. I love having visitors because it pushes me to see and do new things! I’ve lived in LA for almost two years now, and I still feel like I’ve only seen a fraction of what the city has to offer.

I’m going to put together some posts on my favorite LA adventures – altogether I hope they can serve as a mini guide to LA. Maybe one of you will come visit someday!

One of my favorite things to do with out-of-towners is visit the food trucks! Many cities around the country have their own fleet of gourmet food trucks as well, but I feel like the food truck phenomenon is a true LA experience!

Pork buns and duck fat fries from the Bun Truck

You can find food trucks by following your favorites on Twitter – trucks will tweet out their schedules so you can go grab a bite. I think the best way to enjoy a meal at the food trucks is to find a gathering of a few trucks – that way you can try a few items from different trucks. We caught this food truck rally in Santa Monica, which has some of the best food trucks in LA. There were about twelve trucks serving everything from Indian to sushi to waffles! That’s the fun thing about eating at the trucks – it’s a different experience every time!

Red velvet pancakes from the Buttermilk Truck

Santa Monica Food Truck Lot
2612 Main Street, Santa Monica
Every Tuesday from 5 – 9 pm

Do you have food trucks in your city? What’s your favorite food truck?

This entry was posted in la adventures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to LA Adventures: Gourmet Food Trucks

  1. katiepede says:

    Amazing, am so jealous…. we have the occasional German market where I am able to munch on a good bratwurst or two… but nothing like this…..(Do they, however, serve a good cup of tea)? :-) xxx

  2. laurenann05 says:

    So fun! We have a food truck park over in Ft. Worth (we live closer to Dallas) so it’s a bit of a drive, but we like that there are more than one truck so we can sample different things.

  3. Tet Roberts says:

    Looks great! Here in Manila there are a lot of small food stalls on wheels, just frying or steaming dim sum or satay.

  4. Christine says:

    yummm I love the sound of food trucks.

  5. Alison Anders says:

    those red velvet pancakes make me want to hop the next flight from Boston to LA! lovin’ your blog — keep it up! :)

  6. Frankie says:

    Seriously those pancakes look like heaven. We have the “grease trucks” in New Brunswick, but I’ve never eaten anything from there. THey aren’t really mobile anyway, more a permanent fixture. We get the occasional icecream truck which will always make my day! Loved this post!

  7. That pancake!!! It looks so tempting! Beautiful photos by the way ;)

  8. This is awesome! I once went to a food truck gathering in Charleston SC, but it was nothing like this.

  9. keiness says:

    i just stumbled upon ur blog and its amazing! im so excited to try out all ur DIY :D

  10. Alyse says:

    Wow! We have food trucks here in town, but we really only ever get hot dogs, hamburgers, and fries! :P Sadly, no sushi on our roach coaches.

  11. eesh says:

    Red Velvet Pancakes!!! Genius.

  12. Whitney Rains says:

    I love the food trucks in Austin. My favorite is Hello Cupcake.

  13. The pancakes look interesting. Were they good? I’ve never heard of food trucks before. Must be pretty cool to stop by one of them and enjoy your favourite dish when you want :)

  14. Laura says:

    Everything looks delish, Kira! I live in the Bay Area (Oakland) and am officially addicted to food trucks- my favorite, so far, is Vesta Flatbread. They have a brick oven on the truck = homemade, fresh flat bread Mediterranean sandwiches! Great. Now I’m hungry. Again.

  15. Pingback: LA Adventures: Gourmet Food Trucks | her new leaf « The Net Gourmet

  16. Flav_Holman says:

    I’m heading to LA this Friday, can’t wait to see them!!!

  17. wardentee says:

    Great photos. Wish we had trucks like that here!

  18. KylaB says:

    This is definitely something I would enjoy. What were those velvet pancakes like? I’d love to try something like that.

  19. Another reason to come back to LA!

  20. It all looks so delicious and just plain fun too. Thanks for sharing.

  21. I’m living LA until July – I really need to see more of it! I would love to check out these food van markets :)

  22. joanne says:

    pork buns? duck fat fries?
    vetty vetty interesting, my dear!!
    alas, no sparta has no food trucks, well, except for the pork butt cooker outside of kroger and the pork rinds fryer at floyd’s, oh, and the pork barbecue truck that shows up here and there.
    come to think of it, we do have some food trucks! none of them gourmet, but i guess tennesseans LOVE their pork!!!

  23. auntie k says:

    I wish I went to this!!! I LOVE food trucks! Cheap and convenient! I wish pasadena was closer to Santa Monica..it’s such a long drive out there!

  24. qiuuing says:

    Hi! I just came across your blog today. It’s really pretty and your pictures are gorgeous! Makes me happy just reading through your posts. :)

  25. joyintheday says:

    I’m so enjoying your blog. Love your style, truly! Beautiful photos and awesome tips for customizing blogs! Looking forward to following:)

  26. Unfortunately in my Country SA we don’t have like these trucks, the only best truck to me is ice cream truck at the beach :P

  27. Thanks for sharing a “little bit of your world” WOW… we don’t have that type of food here in Australia (that I know of). Very interesting :D

  28. There are a ton of food trucks in Hawaii and I’m so glad that they are allowed back on the streets after some issues. My favorite one is called Faerie Cakes and it’s a dessert truck :)

  29. I love your blog and am so inspired by your story! I too am planning to move to LA soon, so I’m glad I stumbled across your blog. :) Also wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award…keep up all the great work! http://lovedanniel.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/nominated-the-versatile-blogger-award/

Discuss!

