Sick Day

Working with kids means getting sick. Today I stayed home sick from work and it got me thinking – sick days when you’re an adult are nowhere near as fun as they were when you were a kid.

When I stayed home sick from school as a kid, my momma was there. She would bring my pillows and blankets downstairs to the couch and let me watch tv. I would always watch the Price Is Right. (Maybe I should add that to my bucket list?) She would give me juice or tea, or if I was really lucky, Sprite! This was a big treat for me, weirdo, I know. She would make me toast or soup and always Jell-O. Jell-O makes you feel so much better!! Once dinner rolled around, I was usually feeling well enough to eat some cereal or scrambled eggs.

Today I slept in (and missed the Price Is Right) and made myself soup for lunch and made myself some tea that wasn’t very good. Boo! Someone should start a business of nannies that come to your house and take care of you when you’re sick. You can give them a checklist of supplies they will need and remedies you require.

Do you have fond memories of your sick days or am I the only nut? Do you believe in the healing power of Jell-O? What remedies did your momma use on you or what remedies do you use for your own little ones?

xoxo

This entry was posted in adulthood, new job. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sick Day

  1. Suz says:

    So sorry you’re sick… Wish I could pop over and take care of you. 🙂

  2. Lori says:

    Sorry – can’t send Jello in the mail! Feel better!

  3. Meg says:

    Go get some Korean tofu soup from tofu-ya on Sawtelle, north of Olympic, gauranteed to make you feel better!

  4. joanne says:

    sorry you’re sick, kir, but now you’re home with your mom! my mom believed in the healing power of canned chicken noodle soup. now, as an adult, i like lipton noodle soup and saltine crackers. always makes things better!

  5. Joe says:

    Staying home sick is a pleasure pretty much confined to youth. I’ve reached a point where I hate to waste a sick day on a day when I’m actually sick. And as much as I enjoyed being babied when sick, I’ve also grown to prefer being alone, and left alone, when I have anything more serious than the sniffles.

Discuss!

