Christmas Magic

I hope everyone had a good Christmas! Marcus and I visited my family and the kids seemed to love their gifts. It’s always fun to be around kids on Christmas – they showed us their new toys, their wishlists, and the cookies they left out for Santa. That got me thinking.. when did I stop believing in Santa?

I was always a pretty savvy kid. I do remember at one point writing a letter to Santa in the middle of summer asking him to prove himself. To my surprise, the tooth fairy responded instead! She let me know that Santa vacations during the summer and I should try writing to him closer to Christmas time. I also remember discussing Santa with my best friend Kim. She told me that every Christmas eve, Santa called her and her brother on the phone! What?? Santa never called me!! Suspicious..

Finally, I have a vague memory of hanging out with my cousins in Tennessee. Now, I have one particular cousin who, as a kid, had the tendency to be a bit of a know-it-all. So did I, for that matter. I remember having an argument with her one summer because she kept telling me and all the younger cousins that she was a “pre-teen,” as if this somehow entitled her to be in charge of the rest of us. Well, smart little me deduced in my head that “pre” just meant “before,” so I quickly snapped back, “Well, technically, we’re all pre-teens!!” So anyway, I’m pretty sure it was nowhere near Christmas time. I don’t even think we were on the subject of Christmas or Santa. But this oldest cousin leaned over and said, “You know Santa’s not real right??” I felt my face get hot because I didn’t want to believe it, but really I had been onto the whole “Santa thing” for months now. So I sadly replied, “Yes..”

I’m sure this cousin has no memory of this event and I’m pretty sure I’ve never told anyone before, so this is my confession. If you’re reading this Ki, you killed Christmas!! When did you stop believing in Santa?

xoxo

This entry was posted in kids, quickie. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas Magic

  1. Lori says:

    Hahaha – didn’t know about that. But you forgot to mention that your Summertime Santa letter contained a bit of extortion. I believe it read “Dear Santa, If you are real, please leave a Cabbage Patch Doll on my bed.” Well, the Tooth Fairy put an end to that!
    Love ya~

    • Lori says:

      Oh, and my magic was killed by a little old lady. I was at Grandma’s house – age 5. She was entertaining an elderly neighbor, Isabel. Isabel asked me if I was excited about Christmas coming soon. I said yes, I was going to see Santa Claus and tell him what I wanted. She said “Oh I remember when I used to believe in Santa…” Right then my powers of deduction brought me to the sad conclusion. And I knew it was too soon for me to know. I think it was just a couple years later when I ruined it for my younger sisters~

  2. joanne says:

    oh, damn all the older cousins and sisters!!!!
    well, i DO still believe in santa, i do, i do…!

  3. Shellby says:

    I was also suspicious so I tested Santa and asked for all of Saved By the Bell on VHS (which sadly didn’t exist), when I didn’t get it, I knew.

    Child Kira sounds fun! I wish I could have known you then, haha. Great story/blog topic!

  4. Suz says:

    Santa isn’t real?????????

  5. Franjessica says:

    I was thinking about this before Christmas as well, and I can’t think of when exactly I stopped believing. I do know that my older brother and I used to search through the house in the weeks leading up to Christmas and find all of our presents, since I was like 4, we’d find them all. So I didn’t really believe, but then I believed again in 3rd grade because my teacher told us Santa couldn’t actually make it to everyone’s house on one night, so he sometimes comes early to your house and gives your presents to your parents to hid. THAT explained it, and I think I believed again until like 6th/ 7th grade or so (old I know but that’s the person I am…)

  6. Pingback: It’s Fon to Due «

  7. Pingback: Last Christmas «

Discuss!

