She’s Back!!

Here she is! Back from the dead grad schools apps. That’s right. I told myself I couldn’t blog again (among other things) before I finished them. So I haven’t blogged in three weeks. But anyway, here I am, so get ready for a Project Get Fit update!! I’m going to post an overview tonight and go into a bit more detail in the days and weeks to come. I have so much to share with you all!!

So, how’s it going with Rule #1?

Rule #1 is simple: work out!! Marcus and I have been diligently following along with C25K and last night we completed day 1 of week 5!! That means we’re halfway to 5k! It’s definitely a huge challenge but I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how much I can do. I’ve always claimed that my body is just not designed for running. Maybe it’s not, but I can still do it!

I’ve also been cross-training at least two days per week (sometimes three) with Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and her No More Trouble Zones dvds, as well as workouts from Netflix and FitTV. More on this later!

So, how’s it going with Rule #2?

Three meals a day. It’s going well! I’ve only slipped a few days (usually on the weekends) but the running is definitely helping, because I know if I eat well throughout the day, my run will be fueled well and I won’t feel (as much) like crap.

So, how’s it going with Rule #3?

My plan was to keep a list on the fridge of foods to eat and to eat them. I never implemented the list, but I think I’ve been doing a pretty good job of eating what was on hand before it goes bad. Portions are also going well, it makes leaving for work in the morning so easy because I just grab a few snacks for my bag, fill my bottle with water, and I’m on my way. I also discovered that it is not advisable to store sliced strawberries in airtight containers (as I showed in my previous post) because it makes the go bad really fast. But storing them like that taught me what one serving of strawberries looks like, and now I only eat that much.

So, how’s it going with Rule #4?

I definitely thought that #4 was going to be the hardest: junk food beware. It hasn’t been that bad. Candy in the house has been kept to a bare minimum. Even if it’s around, I’m actually able to not eat the entire bag. Chips and crackers have not been eaten out of the box – they get poured into a bowl first and I don’t go back for seconds. Or if I do, I think long and hard about it first. I drank only 1 can of soda at home in the last three weeks (and I felt really bad about it). I baked two batches of banana chocolate chunk muffins and I’m currently baking fruit and nut energy bars!

So, how’s it going with Rule #5?

I recorded all of my meals for the first week. It gave me a really good picture of what I was eating and was fun! It’s really cool (in my nerdy opinion) to try to get all the things you need out of your meals while keeping the bad stuff down. It’s all neatly tallied for your viewing pleasure! I still input specific meals and items if I have questions about them, and I may go back to tracking. We’ll see!

So the bottom line is, I feel really good about myself. I was worried about old aches and pains (from my dancing days) flaring up, but they’ve been fine. I think that I’ve pretty much brought food to the front of my mind so I’m always thinking about it, planning my meals and deciding on snacks. I’m eating consciously instead of mindlessly. Hopefully you guys will enjoy my upcoming posts on healthy foods and exercise, because that’s what’s on my mind lately.

How’s it going with your resolutions?

xoxo

This entry was posted in project get fit. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to She’s Back!!

  1. Marcus says:

    5 minutes, 3 rest, 8 minutes, 3 rest, 5 minutes.

    Booooo

  2. It sounds like you are doing well with your rules! The only real resolution I made was not to drink red bull and I have only had one red bull (desperate times) in the 26 days of the new year – I feel pretty good about it!

  3. Lori says:

    You are somebody else, I think! Good job with the health kick!

  4. Suz says:

    You are doing GREAT!!

  5. Joe says:

    Don’t overdo the exercise; it eventually killed Jack LaLanne…

Discuss!

