Crafty Challenge: The Big Reveal!

If you missed my last post, my good friends Shellby and Frankie and I challenged each other to a battle of crafting prowess. The goal was to create something focused around the theme (the ocean) and to reflect our personal styles using materials we already had. When I saw what the girls came up with, I was so excited! We all took the challenge in completely different directions and all of the completed projects are awesome!! To give the girls an opportunity to explain their work, I had them describe what they did and used their words in this post, signified by italics. My words are in the standard font. Click on any of the photos for a more up-close and detailed view. On to the projects!

First up is Shellby! She created an amazing multi-media project based on a doodle she did at work one day.

I really liked the doodles I made during my lunch break and decided to use them for the challenge. I took a picture of them and re worked/ traced them in Illustrator.

I printed out the girl for the coloring and texturing (colored pencil, decoupage) of the trading card. After I x-acto-ed her out, I placed her on the card with an abstract sky background (decoupage, tissue paper, and luster dust). To make her hair waves look 3D I added foam tape at the ends and only glued down the head/body part of the image.

[Tiny works of art like these are known as “Artist Trading Cards” or “ACEOs” (Art Cards, Editions & Originals) and were created as a way for artists to exchange original artwork. You can find tons of them on Etsy.]

For the jewelry, I just traced an octopus and starfish onto shrinky dink. Shrinky dink was not as fun as I remember and sharpies smudge (a lot), so I just colored them after baking and put clear sealer over. Chain, beads, and earring studs were added to make them useful.

Despite her struggles with shrinky dink, she did a great job, didn’t she?

Frankie made what she calls “Sea-ship bracelets”!

I call them “Sea-ship bracelets”…get it? Like friendship bracelets but gifts from the sea! My friend’s mom has massive collection of sea glass from Puerto Rico. She taught me how to drill holes in the glass underwater. I’m not 100% sure why you drill underwater, but I was told it’s so the drill doesn’t heat the glass up and cause cracks. Sometimes the glass still cracks, it is glass, after all! Hold the drill as perpendicular to the glass as possible so the hole is straight not tilted. It seems like it takes forever, but it usually takes about 4-6 minutes depending on the thickness of the glass.

I then put silver jump rings through all of the holes (using pliers) and connected three pieces of glass per bracelet. Then I connected a length of chain and some fancy clasps and voila!

Cute, huh? A great project to share with friends.

And then there’s me! I was inspired by my absolute favorite childhood movie, the Little Mermaid. I wanted to make a crazy hairpiece that a mermaid would make a wear herself!

Please excuse my [giant] unmakeup-ed face and puffy eyes.

The only new material I purchased for this project was one 29-cent piece of off-white felt to use for the base of the piece. I hot-glued the felt to a headband I had lying around. Then I raided my bead and supply boxes for anything else I could use! I wanted to use items that could either be found in the sea my merpeople or lost in the sea by humans. The sand dollars were found here on the beach in Venice. The bit of fisherman’s net was hand-knotted by me out of some hemp twine. Everything else has been hanging around in my craft boxes for years. Even the teeny lobster. I have no idea where he came from.

One item that I didn’t have on-hand (that I knew I needed for this project) was a dinglehopper. (This is what Scuttle tells Ariel her fork is called!) Luckily I know a lady who has “gizmos and gadgets a-plenty.” So I called my mom and soon after, this tiny silver fork was in the mail and on its way to me. I shined it up just a little with a bit of toothpaste and bent it in my hands to fit to the shape of my head better. Everything was attached with hot glue.

I am so glad that I got to do this project with my friends! We all had a great time working on our projects and I’m happy to share them with my readers!

What do you think of the crafty challenge results? Do you have any suggestions for our next crafty challenge?

xoxo

This entry was posted in crafts, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crafty Challenge: The Big Reveal!

  1. Shellby says:

    I can’t wait for the next challenge! This was so fun and you both did a fabulous job, I love your stuff!

  2. Lori says:

    Wow! I’m so impressed! Shellby’s imaginative artwork is so whimsical, and Frankie’s jewelry is simply fantastic! And you got yourself ready for the mermaid ball with your headpiece! And you made your own fishnet? overachiever!

  3. joanne says:

    oh kira! i love the three results but i have to say, i LOVE yours best!! what a great mermaid hairband!! i noticed the dinglehopper right away!! you are so cute and talented- made your own fisherman’s net!!! just love it!!!

  4. Morgan says:

    OMG – I LOVE…LOVE…LOVVVVE everything.

    Kira, the headband is amazing and I could TOTALLY see Ariel wearing it. Awesome work!

  5. Suz says:

    Great challenge and super great results!! Glad we’re not expected to vote for the best…

  6. Lori says:

    Yeah, and if anybody needs any dinglehoppers, give me a call!

  7. Natasha says:

    Wow, I’m very impressed by all! Can’t wait to see what’s next 🙂

  8. Kristin says:

    Ohhh my gosh, that headband is crazy in a good way. That fork is a nice touch!

  9. Layla says:

    SO very cool! I am a total fail at being crafty, but this makes me wish I was capable of making cool things!

  10. I love what each of you created! What a fun challenge 🙂
    I especially love your Little Mermaid inspired hairpiece, the fork addition is brilliant!

  11. Pingback: The Pinterest Challenge and a Call for Crafters «

Discuss!

