Aunt Jan’s Cookies (For a Cause)

If you’re following my Twitter, you may have seen me tweeting over the past few days using the hashtag #OperationLayla. From their website:

Operation Layla is the lovechild of a wonderful group of girls banding together to help an awesome friend in need of surgery.

This organization came to my attention via several of my Twitter and blog friends. In a nutshell, Layla is a blogger and an amazing woman who was diagnosed with cervical cancer soon after her 30th birthday. She underwent surgical treatment to remove the cancerous cells, but three years later, she began to experience daily pain and feared that her cancer had returned. Thankfully, it had not, but it was clear to her doctors that she was suffering from complications from her previous surgery. Due to struggles with her and her husband’s health insurance, she will need to pay $4500 out-of-pocket for her surgery.

Through the efforts of Operation Layla and generous donations from friends and strangers, the team was able to reach their goal in 48 hours! Though the cost of her surgery has now been covered, there are still medications and post-op costs to consider, so the team isn’t stopping now! Any additional money raised exceeding the cost of Layla’s medical bills will be donated to another worthy charity.

So what does all that have to do with cookies? Operation Layla is hosting an online bake sale! Bidding for each item will start at $15 and all of the proceeds will got to Operation Layla! Bidding will take place tomorrow, March 16 from 8 am to 11 pm EST. Here’s a little peek at what I’m contributing:

Oats! Just kidding, it gets better. I’m contributing my Aunt Jan’s Overnight Oatmeal Cookies. Aunt Jan is my grandma’s sister, and her cookies are pretty much the stuff of legends in my family. I hope that you will hop over to Operation Layla and bid on them (or another delicious treat) but even if you don’t place the winning bid, you can still make them yourself! Here’s what you’ll need:

Now before you get all “that’s not how you do it” on me, I know that’s not how you measure dry ingredients. This photo was -gasp- staged.

  • 4 cups Quaker Oats
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cups vegetable oil

Mix together thoroughly in large bowl and refrigerate overnight. (That’s where the “overnight” part comes from!)

The next day:

  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. almond extract (or substitute vanilla)

Mix together and add to oatmeal mixture.

Stir until blended and soft. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet (I used a Silpat).
Bake at 325 degrees for 15 min.
Remove right away, place on foil until cool and hardened.

When I asked my mom to email me this recipe, she included this disclaimer: “DO NOT let them cool on the cookie sheet or they will become cemented on!!” Wise words, indeed. Oatmeal and brown sugar are two of the stickiest foods on the planet. Wanna see how they turned out?

Wanna taste em for yourself? Head on over to Operation Layla and put in your bid! Hope to see you there!

xoxo

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aunt Jan’s Cookies (For a Cause)

  1. Lori says:

    Looks like a successful batch! Best of luck for lots of $$ for Layla!

  2. joanne says:

    i LOVE oatmeal cookies! these look yummy!

  3. Layla says:

    Thank you, friend!! ❤

  4. Pingback: Kira’s Overnight Oatmeal Cookies | #OperationLayla

  5. Oh my goodness gracious!
    I came over to your site cause I too donated a baked good, and now I see that I NEED THESE COOKIES IN MY LIFE.
    They look fabulous! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

  6. Pingback: What a Year for a New Year «

Discuss!

