On: Disappointments and Getting the Heck Over Them

On Friday I had one of those days. You know the kind that don’t seem particularly different from any other, except for the fact that something is just wrong? On this day, I found myself on the verge of tears when the babysitter of one of my clients innocently asked “How are you?”

For the past year or so, I’ve planned to go to grad school this fall to pursue a career that I really, really want. I’ve worked hard to complete all my prerequisite courses, put together my application essays, suffer through the GRE, and fork over hundreds of dollars for admissions departments to evaluate whether or not I am “worthy” to be educated at their prestigious universities. But you know what they say about the “best laid plans.” Essentially, there was a huge clerical error, causing my applications to never be sent, that I didn’t find out about until it was too late. Obviously, this pissed me off. A lot. But I’ve been trying to get over it because there is truly nothing I can do about it.

So, back to Friday: I pouted all day, whined at my boyfriend when he left to play hockey, and flopped on the couch to watch tv alone. Since M wasn’t around, I couldn’t watch any of “our” shows that we had saved on the DVR so I flipped through the channels to find something to watch. I came across this episode of 20/20. Go ahead, click the link, I’ll wait.

So here I am, whining about not being able to immediately pursue an additional degree, while this woman’s children could no longer recognize her because she had her entire face burned off. Talk about first world problems. So, am I mad? Hell yes. But I need to move on because whining at my boyfriend and crying to my clients’ babysitters is helping neither my relationship nor career. I’ll figure things out eventually.

If you have a minute, please check out Stephanie’s blog, Nie Nie Dialogues. She’s amazing.

Have you had a disappointment or a bad day lately? How did you get the heck over it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On: Disappointments and Getting the Heck Over Them

  1. joanne says:

    oh kira, i have already been introduced to the amazing nie nie through another blog. she is truly inspiring!! i can’t even imagine what she has gone through. although your disappointment is not as severe, it is still a loss in your life. you need the time to grieve. you will get over it and maybe eventually go to grad school. right now, focus on what you do have and all that is good in your life. that’s what i try to do. and remember, you are a much loved girl!! (besides, friday was the 13th, what did you expect??!!)hahaha

  2. Lori says:

    I’ve also been amazed by NieNie and continue to marvel at the joy that is apparent in that family. She is a person to admire.
    You are on the right track with your own life choices. You are following your heart and using your head. You have a lot to give and so many people who benefit by knowing you. I think this situation just needs time – don’t grab for an instant answer. When you let all your options settle, you will begin to see what direction to take.
    Meantime, do some small things that make you happy each day. Dance, art, gardening, ice cream, hugs…

  3. It’s all perspective, isn’t it.
    I get so obsessed by something I get that selective vision where everything reminds me of it and I see that thing everywhere.
    But then your perspective changes and suddenly it hardly seems important at all.
    There are many paths, follow your heart and you’ll find your way.

  4. Suz says:

    Dear, dear Kira. I, too, have been sad for your disappointments and the life detours you are having to make. But… reading about NieNie is a wakeup call for all of us that all is never lost. Everything CAN be overcome with determination and hard work. Be happy; please!
    And, the best part is: I will see you soon!! πŸ™‚

  5. Awe, I feel for you! That sounds like such a crappy situation. Normally when I get in a funk, I let myself wallow for a small amount of time and then jump into planning mode. Having a plan always makes me feel better πŸ˜‰

Discuss!

