The Story of a Ring

Don’t get too excited people! I’m not talking about that ring. I’m talking about this little ring that I wear every day – my mom and I each have one. I’ll let her tell you a little about it.

Remade Gold and Diamond Ring

Lately, lots of people are pulling old jewelry out of the dresser and selling the gold and silver for a bit of cash. This is a great form of recycling! These metals are refined and sold to jewelry makers for reuse. I had something I wanted to reuse, but it was a sentimental family piece, so I didn’t feel right selling it. It was an old ring from my great great (perhaps another great) Aunt Lily. The ring was heavy and clunky, yet sized for a tiny finger (too small for my pinky.) It had Aunt Lily’s initials, LMS, emblazoned on the front. Not something I would be able to wear as is.

My plan was to have it remade into something new for me to wear. And after looking it over, I realized the amount of gold and the two diamonds would allow for two new rings to be made. So I asked Kira if she’d be interested in a ring from her great great great (etc) Aunt Lily, and she was thrilled! I started looking around Etsy for someone who would do the job. I found Al and Caroline of Beyond the Rockz who specialize in recycled metals and gemstones. Kira and I decided on a design and Al said he could do it, no problem. We had the ring weighed and sent it to them in Connecticut. Then Al did his magic, and in less than two weeks, we had our brand new rings made from our own old ring.

It’s great to have something we wear everyday instead of something that sits forgotten in a drawer. And, though the form has changed, we still remember Aunt Lily when we wear them.

Mom had hers made with a brushed and hammered finish to withstand her regular painting, gardening, and DIYing – mine has a smooth, shiny finish. My mom is not a jewelry person (she doesn’t even wear her wedding band), but we both have worn them every day since we got them over a year ago, and it really makes me feel a special connection to her.

Remade Gold and Diamond Ring

Remade Gold and Diamond Ring

Have you ever found a new use for an old heirloom?

This entry was posted in family, projects. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Story of a Ring

  1. Hannah says:

    What a beautiful idea! I really love what the ring has become 🙂

  2. claire says:

    This is SO sweet!!!

  3. Lori says:

    Thanks for including me on your blog! Love my ring, glad you love yours!

  4. Layla says:

    Love the idea, love the rings.

  5. Mandy says:

    This is so sweet! I absolutely love that you repurposed a ring that meant something but couldn’t wear! It’s also so cool that you share that with your mom. I love this idea!

  6. Suzula says:

    Such a great way to preserve a memory! Your mom was the light in Aunt Lily’s eyes…

  7. Marlene Hoffman says:

    What a charming story. How nice that you found someone on Etsy that you trusted to work with your ring. Thanks for sharing.

Discuss!

