LA Wanderings

After Marcus and I visited the MOCA on Saturday, we wandered around the Downtown LA area for a few hours. I know it’s really weird, but I’ve almost lived here a year and I think I’ve only been downtown once!

Mobile Bike Farm

Right outside the museum was this really cool garden set up with herbs and fruits and veggies. These pics don’t show how big the whole thing was – maybe 50 feet long? Huge and green and lush, it looked way better than my garden!

Mobile Bike Farm

Mobile Bike Farm

There were also a few bikes with planters on the back. Not sure how well they would function for travel but they were super cute!

Strawberry Blossom

A little flower on a strawberry plant. My strawberry plant only got two tiny strawberries that were eaten by some neighborhood creature. These plants had lots!

Going Up

Then we wandered over to Angels Flight, a little old funicular that takes you up a hill for 25 cents. Apparently there have been a few accidents on this thing in the past but we survived.

Looking Up

My hair is so many different colors right now, I have no idea what it’s doing.

Angels Flight

We walked back down the hill and Marcus snapped a few pics as the trolley passed us by. Here’s a little animated gif I made:

Coincidentally, we also stumbled upon Angels Knoll Park. If you’re as big of a Zooey Deschanel fan as I am, you’ll recognize this bench from the movie “500 Days of Summer.” There’s a cute plaque on the back now that reads “Days (95) and (488): Tom’s favorite place becomes one of Summer’s too.”

Summer Bench

We sat on the bench for a few minutes until a cute girl and her mom came over and started taking pictures. Apparently they were on a trip from Atlanta and had spent their final day trekking to the park to see the bench. Cute!

Sitting

Wandering back we found some interesting “art” to take a little break on. Though I assume these were less “art” and more there to stop skateboarders from hanging out.

Wish Tree

We then happened upon Little Tokyo. There were a bunch of wish trees set up where you could write a wish on a piece of origami paper and attach it to a branch. Marc snapped a few pics, until I noticed him taking a picture of me and made the following face.

Wish Tree

Obviously. We spent some time looking at the wishes. Some were really sweet like this one written by a teacher.

A Teacher's Wish

There was a karaoke booth set up showcasing some truly terrible performances but I didn’t get a pic of that.

Wishes

We shopped around the Japanese food market and bought a lot of adorable candy and tea. Then we stopped in a shop for some mochi! Have you ever had mochi? It’s delicious.

Mochi

I think there are several different kinds but this kind is made with a ball of ice cream that is covered in a chewy layer made from rice. Yum!

Mochi

Wandering is the best! Could there be a better way to spend an afternoon?? : )

This entry was posted in livin life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to LA Wanderings

  1. Yay!
    It looks like you discovered some awesome stuff downtown- I LOVE the pics of the wishes! I lived down there for years, and it’s so great how new stuff pops up all the time!

  2. Bri Kim says:

    looks like such an awesome day and makes me miss L.A.! and now I am craving Mochi!

  3. Lori says:

    Sounds like a perfect day! Keep wandering!

  4. Marcus says:

    Not pictured: the amount of flour on the mochi

  5. Becky says:

    What a great day! You hit a couple of my favs (little tokyo and moca) I haven’t been to MOCA in awhile, I need to take a trip down to go soon, it was always one of my favorite museums. Your pics look great too btw!

  6. What a fun day! I’m digging the plant markers, mental note- make these next summer!

  7. Suzula says:

    My kind of a fun day!! Thanks for taking me along…

  8. Mark Epstein says:

    But there’s nothing to do downtown!

  9. joanne says:

    glad you two had a great day! send mochi soon! hahaha

  10. colleen says:

    Ahh LA looks amazing. And yes, love mochi.

Discuss!

