Sunday Sneak Preview

8-7-11lamp

Here’s a little sneak preview of this week’s DIY! Today M and I are frantically cleaning the house and finishing up projects because we have some friends coming to visit all the way from the east coast! I’ll be sure to post about our adventures soon. I have just a few thoughts and finds I’d like to share with you today:

If you have a moment, please comment on this page to vote for my friend Morgan – she and her fiance are in a contest to win videography for their wedding! (You need to have a Facebook account to comment.) You have until midnight tonight to comment. Good luck, Morgan!

Marcus got a new job and I am very, very happy for him! As is the case with many new positions, he won’t be able to take a vacation for the first six months he is working there, but his old job has been working him so hard that he really deserves one! So in two weeks, the two of us are taking a trip to Mexico! We’re both very excited but I am feeling a little overwhelmed – I am a planner and don’t really do well with last-minute plans. But I’m trying my best to go with the flow!

One of my absolute favorite bloggers, Karen of The Art of Doing Stuff, published a post on Friday asking her readers about the project that makes them most proud. I linked up my pallet coffee table, because it was my first foray into building furniture, but I think I am more proud of our kitchen renovation! Marcus and I basically googled our way through this entire project and it took us a few weeks longer than we planned for, but we both love the results.

Have you heard about Don’t Fear the Internet? It’s a series of videos put together with the goal of teaching creative-types HTML and CSS to customize their sites or blogs. I’m super excited to follow along with this series since I have been itching to upgrade my WordPress account and make my blog more uniquely me. I taught myself HTML and CSS when I was 12 or 13 and built a bunch of sites (on Angelfire, remember that?), but I don’t remember very much anymore! The videos so far have been a good refresher and I’m excited to learn more!

How was your weekend? Do you have any internet finds you’d like to share?

This entry was posted in quickie. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Sneak Preview

  1. Morgan says:

    Thank you!!!! ❤ you and cannot wait to check out the Don't fear the Internet!!

  2. Hannah says:

    Yes! I remember that. I taught myself C++ and html and I had a geocities website. I have looked FOREVER to try to find it but it seems to be gone from the interwebs forever. So sad.

  3. Bri Kim says:

    Thanks for suggesting the Dont Fear the Internet series! I know zero about this stuff but have really been wanting to learn!

  4. Bri Kim says:

    okay my husband just posted this on his tumblr and I had to share it with you! haha
    http://mountainpotato.tumblr.com/post/8751717524/every-single-final-destination-death-complete

  5. Kristin says:

    Very new cool new project! Congrats to Marcus on the new job too! That’s awesome!

  6. Amy says:

    i now started reading your blog again.. last one i read was march 6th looks like… on the bright side though i did just come visit you 🙂

  7. Pingback: DIY: How to Make a Bottle Lamp «

Discuss!

