DIY: How to Make a Bottle Lamp

Finally, I’m going to show you how I made the glass bottle lamp I’ve been blabbing about for weeks. Woo hoo!

Bottle Lamp

I’ve been pining over glass bottle lamps like those below for months now, but why oh why are lamps and light fixtures so expensive?

West Elm Gourd Table Lamps, $125 each

They’re so organic and beachy and beautiful! So you can see why when I found this giant bottle in the HomeGoods clearance section for only $5, I put it in the cart and didn’t look back. Marcus was with me at the time, I’m pretty sure I said mumbled something like, “I’m gonna make a lamp out of this, just trust me, okay?” while speeding to the checkout before any other bargain-hunting lamp artists could spot my bottle.

Glass Bottle Lamp: Supplies

For this project, you will need:

  • a bottle (it doesn’t need to be as big as mine)
  • a lamp kit (like this one)
  • a lamp harp (like this one)
  • a lampshade
  • a lightbulb

Glass Bottle Lamp: Supplies

I got my bottle at HomeGoods, lamp kit and harp from Home Depot, and lampshade from Target, if you’re interested.

Glass Bottle Lamp: Step 1

The mouth of my bottle was super wide, so I picked up the biggest washer I could find at Home Depot and glued it in with silicone.

Glass Bottle Lamp: Step 2

Follow the directions on your lamp kit to assemble the body of the lamp. Is that the technical term? Lamp body? I dunno, I guessed. Remove the bottom of your harp and attach it to the lamp body. You also should attach the rubber stopper thingy to the bottom of your lamp body. Most lamp kits come with several sizes so test them out to find out which fits your bottle best. Mine ended up a little small so Marcus showed me how to wrap it with this stretchy plastic tape. I can almost guarantee that’s not the technical term. (I just asked Marcus, he said it’s called Teflon tape.)

Glass Bottle Lamp: Step 3

Stick it in! If it’s a little crooked, you can use some Quakehold like I did to make it stand up straight. Just go with it, I didn’t say this would be a professional tutorial. Squeeze the sides of your harp to attach it.

Glass Bottle Lamp: Step 4

At the top of your harp, there will be some kind of knobbly thing. Mine happens to look like an acorn. Yours might look different. Like an artichoke or something. That’s okay! Unscrew it and balance your lampshade on its post.

Glass Bottle Lamp: Step 5

Inside my acorn was a smaller screwy thing, so I screwed that on first. Not sure if all knobbly things have this or not, but I figured I’d let you know. Then screw on your acorn, put in a bulb, plug it in, and light it up!

Glass Bottle Lamp

Hold crap, you just made a lamp! You now have a sexy bottle lamp for less than half of the cost of those from the fancy stores!

What’s a fancy home accessory you’ve been lusting after?

This entry was posted in projects, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DIY: How to Make a Bottle Lamp

  1. Anni says:

    Oh you read my mind! Those gourd lamps have been on my lust list at West Elm forever. (I have a WE credit card. Bad, bad Anni.) but I just can’t justify that much on a lamp. Will have to try this!

  2. joanne says:

    very cool bottle! very cool lamp! very cool kira!!

  3. pham says:

    I don’t get it!!! where does the power cable come out? Did you drill a hole at the bottom?

  4. Lori says:

    You’re right, it’s perfect for your beach house! So proud of you for shopping the clearance shelf!

  5. Lori says:

    And the only thing I would love to afford is awesome art for the walls.

Discuss!

