The Burning House

A few weeks ago, I heard about The Burning House, a blog where readers submit a photo of the things they would grab if their house was on fire. It’s really fascinating to see what people choose, and as the blog description says, it’s like “an interview condensed into one question.” I’ve been wanting to do my own version of this assignment for awhile, so I decided to reinterpret today’s October Photography Challenge prompt, “Yourself with 13 things” and show the thirteen items I would take if my house was burning. Knock on wood, right??

October 13: Yourself with 13 Things

The assignment was actually pretty difficult for me, as it seems that I don’t own many sentimental things. It was really hard to come up with thirteen items! So I ended up with a mix of essential items and favorite items, but not necessarily things I couldn’t live without.

  1. documents
  2. laptop
  3. glasses
  4. a few favorite pieces of jewelry
  5. cell phone
  6. ipod
  7. leopard scarf
  8. yellow cardigan
  9. favorite jeans
  10. leather boots
  11. dslr
  12. drawing Marcus and me
  13. leather bag
  14. myself, Marcus, and Scout, obviously

I think most of these are pretty self explanatory. The scarf and cardigan are two of my favorite clothing items that have become sort of “signature” pieces for me. You can see in the drawing that I am wearing both of them! If you’re wondering, my favorite jeans are Rail Straight jeans from Madewell. The leather boots were purchased on a trip to Spain more than four years ago, and though they’ve seen better days, they’re still my go-tos when I need to be cute yet comfy. My camera (that actually belongs to Marc) is represented by the lens shown here since I was using it to take the photo. The leather bag is from Kate Spade, a Christmas present to myself last year. The drawing is by me! I drew us to give to Marcus for his birthday a few years ago. It hangs in our bedroom, and I definitely would not want to lose it in our hypothetical house fire!

What would you grab if your house was burning?

This entry was posted in photo challenge, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Burning House

  1. Amy says:

    yay! leopard scarf made it! oh ya and marcus too 🙂

  2. That drawing is too, too cute!

  3. Lori says:

    Are you sure one scarf is enough?

  4. Love that drawing! I have one done by an Etsy lady that looks just like it! 🙂

  5. hemborgwife says:

    I think that it took you a bit to think of 13 things is a good sign! Having done a huge move where things just had to be left behind you realize what you really need or what you really care about!

  6. Pingback: October Photography Challenge: Days 10 – 16 «

  7. Gran says:

    I would grab the painting of my old farmhouse that hangs over my couch; a gift from your mom several years ago… That way I would have the memory even if the fire took it.

  8. bigapplenosh says:

    What an interesting thing to think about! Definitely laptop with photos for me!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Journal: Rainy LA Weekend | her new leaf

Discuss!

