October Photography Challenge: Days 17 – 22

Due to a super-busy week at work, I fell behind on the photo challenge this week, but I’m pretty proud that I was able to catch up on almost all of them this weekend! As usual, if you have any questions on how I shot or edited any of the photos, feel free to ask!

October 17: Technology

October 17: Technology

I didn’t feel especially inspired by this prompt, but Marcus happened to get a new computer this week so I snapped a few pics of the guts of his old computer while he was removing pieces. I always love how colorful the insides of electronics are!

October 18: Shoes

October 18: Shoes

I actually took this a few weekends ago while I was testing out the new lens I borrowed. Is anyone else a TOMS shoes fanatic? This is my second pair, I wear them almost every day!

October 19: Something Orange

October 19: Something Orange

I’ve really been trying not to take a picture of Scout for every single prompt, but I could resist! She’s my favorite orange something!

October 20: Bokeh

October 20: Bokeh

For those unfamiliar with photography terms, bokeh are those orbs of light you can sometimes spot in the backgrounds of photos. They’re created most easily when taking a photo with a very wide aperture. This is a string of cafe lights we have hanging over our patio. I like how the bulb in the front is very focused but everything in the background is very dreamy.

October 21: Faceless Self-Portrait

I was feeling a bit under-the-weather this weekend and just not in the mood to take a photo of myself. I will add it to my list for this coming week!

October 22: Hands

October 22: Hands

I took this photo of Marcus while he was napping. I’m kind of a creep, what can I say? I really like how it looks in black and white.

Are you participating in the October Photography Challenge? Please post links to your blog or Flickr in the comments so I can see your pics!

This entry was posted in photo challenge, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to October Photography Challenge: Days 17 – 22

  1. Bri Kim says:

    ooo i love the bokeh photo!

  2. Lauren says:

    That’s a great bokeh shot!

  3. I LOVE the kitty picture! The paws are so snuggly!!

  4. Lori says:

    Great pics. Love the bokeh, cat and electronics. I, too am intrigued by the insides of computers and stuff. How do those little doodads do what they do?

  5. Frankie says:

    I love love love the bokeh photo. It’s one thing I haven’t tried yet. Yours came out fantastic. I love photos where one thing is totally focused and everything else is really, really blurry.

    • It’s a little hard to do with a kit lens because you need a super wide aperture – this was taken at f2.8. Set it as wide as possible and put your focus on something close, have a light source in the back (string lights or light shining through tree leaves works well). Bokeh is (are?) so fun!!

  6. greg says:

    Kir, that bokeh photo is AWESOME! You’re really making me want to start up an old hobby again. Keep taking great shots!

  7. Really enjoyed all the commentary that you put in with each of your Challenge photos!! You’re really good at photography and I look forward to seeing what you come up with each day 🙂

  8. hemborgwife says:

    I love, love. love my TOMS and mine are also the navy blue! I am sad though because they were a bit ravaged last week in the rain and all the cobblestone streets here do not help but once is it Spring they are coming out again!

  9. bigapplenosh says:

    Kitty!! That’s my favorite photo by far 🙂

  10. These photos are absolutely wonderful!!!! 🙂

  11. Anni says:

    I’m so sad that I never really started this! But it’s been a lot of fun following your take on it. I also just got a pair of Tom’s (those black ones, actually) and while I like them, they’ve been giving me blisters. Hoping that once my feet get used to them that will stop?

  12. Kristin says:

    Here for the cat 🙂

  13. joanne says:

    great shots! i also love the lightbulb bokeh!!!

  14. Yay Bokeh!
    I love getting to check out all your photos at once (because I’m a bit late to the game!)

  15. Pingback: October Photography Challenge: Days 23 – 30 «

  16. epstemar says:

    PINKY RING!!!

  17. Pingback: What a Year for a New Year «

Discuss!

