Photography Resources for Beginners

Though I only shared 29 photos that I took during the October Photography Challenge, I took 619. Six hundred and nineteen photos! The best lesson I learned while participating in the challenge was that you need to take LOTS of pictures to end up with any good ones. I promised that I would share my favorite photography resources that I found during the challenge.. Enjoy!

succulent

If you’re still blaming your point-and-shoot for your blurry, blown-out, boring photos, check out Jenna’s tutorial “Taking Your Photos from Blah to BAM!” There are lots of things you can do to make your photos better now before buying a fancy DSLR. (Jenna also has some fantastic tutorials on more advanced settings and techniques.)

At a loss for what your DSLR’s settings mean and when to use them? Check out this DSLR camera simulator – you can adjust the settings on the “camera,” snap photos, and compare the results.

Want to start learning about your DSLR but feel completely overwhelmed by online tutorials? Read Kevin and Amanda’s “Quick Guide to Understanding your DSLR Camera.” It’s super informative without getting too technical.

Want to add some cool effects to your photos using Photoshop? Check out Pioneer Woman’s Actions. Feeling confident and want to try some more involved editing? Try the tutorials on CoffeeShop Blog.

Eager to learn more? Visit my photography board on Pinterest.

Hope you love these as much as I did! Do you have any photography resources to share? Post them in the comments!

This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photography Resources for Beginners

  1. Frankie says:

    Hurray! You’re back. I missed you. This is a great post. Thanks for helping fuel my photography obsession. I really like this photo. It’s one of my favorites you’ve shared so far- the softness and the colors are lovely. The minty pale green and the purplish pink color scream Kira.

  2. Lauren says:

    Thanks for the tips!

  3. Kristin says:

    This is awesome! I have to admit, I’m not very artistic, so I’ve never felt the urge to pick up photography as a hobby. But I sure admire people that do, it’s a great skill to have.

  4. bigapplenosh says:

    This is really great – thanks for posting!

  5. Thank you soo much for linking me to this! I already had found Jenna’s taking photos from Blah to BAM and read over that. I’ve been on the Digital Photography School’s site and have read about ISO, Aperture and Shutter Speed. It’s still confusing though! I don’t want my camera to be stuck on Auto!

    • Try switching to AV mode – I use this a lot. Your camera will select your shutter speed, you can play with the ISO and aperture. Try taking multiple photos of the same subject and switching one setting between each shot, then you can compare the results!

      • I’ve played around a little with AV mode and I do really like the shots I get with it. I understand that you can do that blurry background effect by changing the aperture. I would love to get to a point where I can set my camera on M and plug in my own stuff, but I know that’s still a little ways away. I’m definitely going to play around with AV mode some more. I’d love to try TV mode (at a sporting event or something or by a waterfall) so that I can get some cool motion shots!

Discuss!

