Maybelline Lots of Lashes and Baby Lips Review and GIVEAWAY

Every time I see this classic pink and green mascara tube, I think of my Grandma. I remember standing in her bathroom sniffing and spritzing her many perfumes, I remember her lip prints on tissues in the waste basket, and I remember watching her carefully apply mascara from a pink and green tube. I’m sure Grandma still has that giant collection of perfumes, and I’m sure she still blots her lipstick and applies her Maybelline mascara each morning, because that’s the kind of lady she is. It’s been a while since we’ve had granddaughter-grandmother beauty lessons together, but whenever I see Great Lash mascara, I still instantly think back to being a little girl in her Grandma’s bathroom. I’m grateful to Maybelline for keeping their packaging as classic as my Grandma so that I can think of her whenever I see it on the wall of a drugstore or in the makeup bag of a friend.

One thing I didn’t inherit from Grandma is her lovely lashes. I suffer through life with short, fine, and blonde lashes inherited from elsewhere on my family tree. My lashes are so short and so fine that most mascaras tend to end up on my face by the end of a night out. So when I received a sample of Maybelline’s Lots of Lashes mascara as part of a BzzAgent Campaign, I was eager to try it out. Lots of Lashes comes with a special “Great Little Grabber Brush” designed to coat every teeny tiny lash you have. Since all of my lashes are teeny tiny, I thought this product might be perfect for me!

The small-sized brush really did a great job coating every lash, and the mascara went on smoothly and dried quickly. I’m no cosmetic expert, but I assume that mascara is best applied in the same way you would paint a wall or piece of furniture: thin, even coats. The wand picked up quite a bit of mascara in the tube so I wiped the excess on a tissue before applying to my lashes. This method gave me good, natural-looking coverage without clumping. The black color was a bit much for a blonde like me – I would’ve loved to try this in another shade!

I also received samples of Maybelline’s new Baby Lips lip balm. I am a huge fan of lip balm, so I was very excited to try these! Though not as iconic, the Baby Lips packaging is equally, if not more adorable than the Lots of Lashes tube. I tend to prefer the classic “cap and twist” tube that most lip balms come in, but Baby Lips comes in a “lipstick-style” tube. But the cap fits tightly, and thus far I haven’t had any mishaps with it slipping off in my purse. I was happy to learn that Baby Lips contains SPF 20, something that my favorite Burt’s Bees lip balm doesn’t have. Since moving to LA, I spend so much more time in the sun, and while I try my hardest to protect my skin, I often forget about my lips!

First I tried the Peach Kiss flavor, which has a sweet but not overwhelming flavor and a peachy tint. While I loved the flavor, I wasn’t crazy about the hue; Peach Kiss left my lips looking frosty, a style that is slightly “middle school” for my taste. Next I tried the clear Peppermint balm. Baby Lips has four tinted and two clear varieties, so it was great to be able to try both. My two current favorite lip balms (Burt’s Bees and Neutrogena Naturals) are both mint-flavored, so I was eager to see how Baby Lips Peppermint stacked up. The flavor is very, very mild. Almost indiscernible, actually. I prefer my lip balms have a bit more flavor, but some people might prefer unflavored. I applied this as I went to bed and I can honestly say it was still on my lips when I woke up. Maybelline claims that Baby Lips stays on for eight hours, and when worn overnight, it definitely did. Last up was Cherry Me, a red tinted balm with a cherry flavor. Similar to Peach Kiss, the flavor was pleasant but not overwhelming. The tint is a nice sheer red – a little much for my every day but it would be great for dinner or drinks with girlfriends!

Do you want to try Maybelline’s Lots of Lashes mascara and Baby Lips lip balm? I’m giving away sets to two lucky readers!

You can earn up to two entries in this giveaway. Please leave one comment per entry method.

  1. Comment and tell me your can’t-live-without beauty essential.
  2. Tweet about the giveaway. Include your Twitter handle or a permalink in your comment.

You can use this tweet or make up your own:

I just entered @hernewleaf’s Maybelline giveaway, you can too! http://wp.me/p1bBMk-gK

You have until Friday, November 18 to enter this giveaway. The winner will be announced on Monday, November 21. Good luck!

I received these samples free of charge as part of Maybelline’s BzzAgent Campaign. BzzAgent is a social marketing company that puts products in the hands of real consumers and helps them share their opinions about them with friends and family. Though I received these products to try and share for free, all of the opinions here are 100% my own.

This entry was posted in beauty, giveaway, review. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Maybelline Lots of Lashes and Baby Lips Review and GIVEAWAY

  1. hemborgwife says:

    My cannot live without beauty essential would have to be Aqua Net hairspray, it is my absolute favorite which is crazy since mostly only old ladies use but I swear it is the best holding kind but not crazy crunchy kind I have tried.

  2. pham says:

    Kira, I’ve never read this much about make up in my life.

  3. Kelly says:

    My can’t live without beauty product is Erase Paste by Benefit. It is magical and the only thing that covers the dark circles under my eyes.

  4. Lori says:

    My beauty essential is hand-made soap. I’ve bought from several sellers on etsy.com and it is so much better than manufactured soap. Great for your skin! Try it.

  5. Layla says:

    I LOVE great lash! I used it for years and years and years, and the Covergirl came out with LashBlast and their wand design just worked better for my lashes. But now that Maybelline is doing something similar, I’m going to have to try it again.

    My can’t live without it beauty product is the elf eyebrow duo. I have no eyebrows without it!

  6. Hannah says:

    I have to have mascara – I have baby fine eyelashes too!

  7. I cannot live without facial moisturizer. I’ve been using Olay facial moisturizer since early teenage years and I love it!

  8. kjpugs says:

    I don’t know if I could choose between concealer and mascara! If my skin EVER clears up, then I’d say mascara. It makes me look less like a dead person… although good skin absolutely helps too.

  9. LindsayInNYC says:

    I’m with you – I can’t live without mascara!! I have light and fine eyelashes and eyebrows so mascara and eye brow pencil are always a must.

  10. Jessica Lynn says:

    Sweet! I was just thinking that I really want to start wearing mascara. I was just in Paris for the weekend and the women I saw were strikingly gorgeous. The thing is, the only thing I could actually see them wearing was mascara. No eye shadow or blush, and not even foundation—just mascara. It was simple and stunning! Heh…my go-to makeup is chapstick 🙂

  11. Kristin says:

    Cool! I actually wear FAKE lashes because I like the look of long, dramatic, black lashes. It’s my product must have – but I like mascara too 🙂

  12. I looooove a good classic mascara. You can’t go wrong! Also, try the Orange flavoured baby lips – it is to diiiiiie for. I may or may not eat it off my face.

Discuss!

