Presenting.. the Twelve Crafts of Christmas!

Last year was my first Christmas spent without my immediate family, and it was hard. For the weeks leading up to Christmas, I basically boycotted it. I didn’t decorate, I didn’t listen to Christmas music, I didn’t watch Christmas movies. Mature, I know. I guess I thought that by not allowing myself to get excited during the “holiday season,” Christmas morning without my family might feel like less of a letdown. It was a dumb idea – I missed my family anyway (obviously) and I didn’t enjoy preparing for Christmas until literally the night before.

This year I am lucky to be able to spend the holidays with my family, but nevertheless, I learned my lesson – it’s MY Christmas and I’ll enjoy it if I want to! One of the ways I plan to celebrate is with a full schedule of holiday-related posts brought to you by yours truly, as well as some very special guest bloggers you will meet very soon! The Twelve Crafts of Christmas will focus on tutorials for handmade holiday decor and gifts (expect more than twelve!), but you can also expect to read about family traditions, gift ideas, and maybe even a giveaway or two!

There are several ways that you can participate in the Twelve Crafts of Christmas!

  • Follow along with the Twelve Crafts on the blog, comment on and pin your favorites to Pinterest
  • Try your hand at any of the tutorials posted here on her new leaf. Email or tweet your version to hernewleaf.kira@gmail.com or @hernewleaf and I will feature you here!
  • Link-up your blog by submitting the link to any holiday-related post via email or Twitter. You may submit as many as possible, I will link them all!

I also should mention, I got carried away with the “pun-nyness” of naming this blog series and want to note that bloggers of all religions are invited to participate. My own home is one of mixed faiths and I wouldn’t want anyone to feel excluded!

If you’re excited to participate, grab the button below for your blog!

I can’t wait, I have so much to share with you all!

What project or tradition are you most looking forward to this holiday season?

This entry was posted in 12 crafts of christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Presenting.. the Twelve Crafts of Christmas!

  1. Maria says:

    I’m looking forward to cookies, cards, and t-shirts…if I ever get a moment to get started.

  2. Lori says:

    Ready for the excitement!

  3. Lauren says:

    Can’t wait to see what you and the guest bloggers have in store! My favorite project so far has been making an ornament for our first married Christmas.

  4. Frankie says:

    Huzzah! You may need to teach me how to add the button to my blog! I always avoid doing that because I’m not so sure how. This cheered up my terrible mood a bit. I’m feeling pretty scroogy this year, for the same reason you felt scroogy last year. Also the button is very cute. Good Job.

  5. Jessica Lynn says:

    Can’t wait for this! This is my first year away from our family and even though I’ve decorated a little bit, I want to do more!

  6. Kelly says:

    This is such a fun idea, and I can’t wait to see your projects! I just completed my first Christmas decor craft project. It may still need some tweaking before it’s exactly how I want it though: http://squirrelsandpearls.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/pinterest-challenge-christmas-chandelier/

Discuss!

