[Twelve Crafts of Christmas] Repurposed Trees

Repurposed Material Trees

When I think of Christmas, one of the first images that comes to mind is trees. I decided to make some out of supplies I already had around the house. Even if you don’t have these on hand, you can pick some up on the cheap!

Repurposed Material Trees

You can buy styrofoam tree forms from a craft store, but I made my own out of construction paper and paper plates. Then I just hot glued it up! The popsicle stick tree reminds me of this West Elm tree that costs a lot more.

Repurposed Material Trees

I made the magazine tree using this tutorial from Martha Stewart. Martha is the queen of crafts, so I’ll let her explain that one. The birdhouses I used for display are from the dollar section of Michael’s. I love how they look nestled with the trees!

Repurposed Material Trees

I placed a star ornament at the top of each tree to tie them together. I found these at the dollar store in a package of six. I plan to make some more trees in the coming weeks out of more different materials. I’m already thinking about feathers, newspaper, and felt. Can you think of any more ideas?

If you enjoyed this post, click the image above to pin it!

How are your holiday crafts coming along? Share via email (hernewleaf.kira@gmail.com), Twitter, or comment below to be linked in the next Twelve Crafts of Christmas holiday post!

This entry was posted in 12 crafts of christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [Twelve Crafts of Christmas] Repurposed Trees

  1. Maria says:

    SO AWESOME! So original and unique!

  2. Frankie says:

    I like the popsicle stick tree and the pencil tree alot! I may have to craft some up my grandma this weekend! I think I would paint the popsicle one though; I like the natural feel of it, but I love me some color. Check out my post today to see a wrapping paper idea. 🙂

  3. joanne says:

    very clever and cute, kir!! i like the chalkboard message too!

  4. Lori says:

    Wow, so many trees! and last you hardly had a tree at all…
    I like how they all look together, esp. the magazine and popsicle ones.

  5. Layla says:

    This is awesome, dude. You did a great job!

  6. hemborgwife says:

    That is so fun! I also love your chalkboard sign, I showed it to my husband and said if I had one of those I could do the same with a heavy hint hint voice!

  7. blucanoe says:

    I’m definitely not crafty. Have never had any desire to be crafty. Don’t even particularly like looking at crafty stuff. But this made me happy!

Discuss!

