[Twelve Crafts of Christmas] Ombre Felt Wreaths

Ombre, or a gradual change in color from light to dark, has been one of the hot design trends this year. What better way to close out 2011 with one of its most popular motifs?

Ombre Felt Wreaths

To make an ombre felt wreath, you will need:

  • wreath form
  • glue
  • felt in varying shades of the name color
  • decorations to add detail (not shown)

Ombre Felt Wreaths (supplies)

I started by wrapping my wreath form with a 2.5 inch-wide strip of felt. If you use a styrofoam wreath form, you can skip this step, you just want to create a nice, solid base for gluing on your felt petals.

Ombre Felt Wreaths How To

Ombre Felt Wreaths How To

Once your wreath is covered, start to glue on 2 inch circles of felt. I used a glass votive candle holder to trace the shape of a circle onto the felt, you can use whatever you have lying around (a shot glass or jar lid would work well).

Ombre Felt Wreaths How To

Apply your hot glue in a semicircle on one side of the circle. Start to glue your petals on, overlapping a little on each side. My wreath required about 12 circles in each shade, yours may require more or less, depending on the size of your wreath and circles.

Ombre Felt Wreaths How To

Continue gluing until you have all of your petals affixed. On the last row, you will need to tuck the edges under the first row in order to keep the pattern continuous.

Ombre Felt Wreaths

You can leave your wreath as-is, or you can decorate! I was digging the monochromatic look of the wreath so I decided to keep my decorations white and silver.

Ombre Felt Wreaths (detail)

I made two wreaths, so I kept the decorations similar but slightly different. I cut holly leaf shapes from white felt and added silver eucalyptus, silver mini pinecones, some sparkly foliage, and small silver beads as “berries.”

If you enjoyed this post, click the image above to pin it!

How are your holiday crafts coming along? Share via email (hernewleaf.kira@gmail.com), Twitter, or comment below to be linked in the next Holiday Link Love post!

This entry was posted in 12 crafts of christmas, crafts, tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [Twelve Crafts of Christmas] Ombre Felt Wreaths

  1. Frankie says:

    These are really lovely kira. I like the ombre effect.

    I made some more wrapping paper yesterday and posted about it today if you’d like to check it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lori says:

    Love the wreaths! And you could use any colors for different looks. I might try it!

  3. Kristin says:

    Super pretty! I don’t think I’ve ever DIYed a wreath in my life, not even in elementary school… you rock!

  4. Amy says:

    so pretty! i want a shirt that looks like this ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Shayla says:

    I really like this! Next year is supposed to be our non-hectic Christmas… Maybe I’ll do some crafting!

  6. Shellby says:

    These turned out really great! I can see making matching xmas trees too!

Discuss!

