Twelve Crafts of Christmas [Guest Post] DIY Octopus Ornament with Frankie

Frankie is another ex-roommate of mine from college. We have spent many hours crafting together, like the time we made garlands of fall leaves out of cereal boxes for our annual Friendsgiving celebration. After much prodding from me, she finally started her own blog! You can keep up with Frankie’s crafting adventures over at To Be Frank. Thanks for contributing, Frank!

I have been admiring Anthropologie’s Sea Story Octopus and debating whether or not I wanted to purchase it. When Kira asked me to guest post here for the Twelve Crafts of Christmas, I figured why not DIY it instead? I love the sea, and I think this ornament is pretty for a Christmas tree or as year-round decor for any room. After the holidays, mine is going to find its permanent home in my bathroom!

You will need:

  • hot glue gun
  • styrofoam egg (or plastic egg from Easter)
  • pipe cleaners
  • newspaper (or book pages) cut into strips
  • Mod Podge
  • a bit of recycled plastic to create the loop on top (I used a coffee tin top)
  • paint
  • black marker
  • clear varnish

Fold all your pipe cleaners in half, and hot glue the pipe cleaners to the  narrow end of the styrofoam egg. Affix your newspaper strips of newspaper to the egg, either with hot glue or Mod Podge (we’ll Mod Podge the whole thing at the end, so it’s up to you how you attach the paper now).

Wrap the newspaper in short strips around the the pipe cleaners, using the hot glue to secure it. Once the legs have been covered with paper, shape them the way you want them to stay.

Cut a semicircle out of the plastic to create a loop on top of your octopus to hang it from. Fold a small portion of either end of your semicircle in opposite directions so that you have a surface to attach to your octopus. Hot glue each folded side to the top of the octopus. Cover the loop with more newspaper.


Mod Podge the entire octopus to smooth out the surface. Let dry. If you want to add some color to your octopus, mix acrylic paint in the color of your choice with clear varnish, and paint the octopus as much or as little as you want. I added just a bit of a pink tint. Paint white dots for the eyes and all along the bottom of each tentacle. Let dry. Finally, use a black sharpie to put spots along the tentacles and pupils in the eyes. Tie a ribbon through the loop and hang!
If you enjoyed this post, click the image above to pin it!

How are your holiday crafts coming along? Share via email, Twitter, or comment below to be linked in the next Holiday Link Love post!

This entry was posted in 12 crafts of christmas, crafts, projects, tutorial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Twelve Crafts of Christmas [Guest Post] DIY Octopus Ornament with Frankie

  1. hemborgwife says:

    That is so fun! I wish our tree was taller, it is 2 feet, so I could make fun ornaments!

  2. Lori says:

    Cute octopus! I have a plan for an octopus project myself – but it’s a secret. shhh.

  3. Frankie says:

    Wow Kir, my tutorial sounds so much better than it did in the email! Do you want to edit all my tutorials from now on? 🙂

  4. bri kim says:

    How cute! my friend and I were just looking at some adorable octopus ornaments the other day, I might have to try this! (If I ever get some time…ornaments are still good after christmas right?)

  5. Shellby says:

    What a lovely idea! It will go great with my sea shell ornaments!

  6. joanne says:

    very cool octopus and a great tutorial!

  7. Hannah says:

    And as we all know – an octopus was present at the birth of Jesus. Because Love Actually TOLD ME SO!

Discuss!

