[Twelve Crafts of Christmas] Tiny Santa Hat Fascinator

Santa Hat Fascinator

There’s something about this project that totally cracks me up. It’s a tiny hat! It’s hilarious! A few months ago, I saw a photo on Pinterest of a girl wearing a tiny top hat. I didn’t know why, but I wanted one! I filed the image away in my brain and promised I would look for tiny hat wearing opportunities in the future.

Last week, during one of my many runs to the dollar store, inspiration struck! I found a tiny Santa hat being marketed as a “Pet Hat.” I dunno about your pets, but my pet does not like wearing hats. I checked.

So, with that option off the table, I decided to craft myself a fascinator.

Santa Hat Fascinator Tutorial

You will need:

  • pet hat (found at Dollar Tree)
  • headband
  • glitter/decorations (optional)
  • hot glue
  • a scrap of cardboard to prop your hat open

Santa Hat Fascinator Tutorial

Cut a strip of thin cardboard (I used a cereal box) and form into a circle with a bit of tape. This ring will help your hat hold its shape.

Santa Hat Fascinator Tutorial

Snip the elastic strap off of your hat and push your cardboard ring inside the opening of the hat. I considered stuffing the hat to give it more structure, but I kinda liked to floppy feel of it. Stuff as you wish!

Santa Hat Fascinator

Use hot glue to attach the hat to your headband. I also decided it needed a little sparkle, so I added glitter to the holly berries. I might add a jingle bell to the point of the hat, I haven’t decided exactly how annoying I want to be yet.

Santa Hat Fascinator

Scout prefers the hat on me. And if I ever get invited to a royal wedding at Christmas time, I am all set in the crazy fascinator department!

If you enjoyed this post, click the image above to pin it!

How are your holiday crafts coming along? Share via email, Twitter, or comment below to be linked in the next Holiday Link Love post!

This entry was posted in 12 crafts of christmas, crafts, projects, tutorial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to [Twelve Crafts of Christmas] Tiny Santa Hat Fascinator

  1. Layla says:

    Haha, the pics of Scout removing the hat are priceless. Cute!

  2. Amy says:

    That is totally adorable. How fun would that be at a Christmas party?! šŸ™‚

  3. Hannah says:

    I actually LOVE this! We have a holiday party next week and although its semi-formal, i think I just might make one! LOVE.

  4. Frankie says:

    1. You are hilarious. 2. Scout is hilarious. 3. Your Santa hat fascinator is hilariously awesome.

  5. Shellby says:

    Adorable and festive! I tried some holiday gear for my kitties this year too, and you’re right, they don’t like clothes

  6. Lori says:

    You look so cute in your tiny hat! Will you wear it on Christmas, please?

  7. phamathan says:

    where do i get a headband?!

  8. joanne says:

    kir, that is adorable! and i love the wreath behind you also!! cute, cute, cute!!

  9. Kristin says:

    Ok, first, this reminds me of this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mNB_VG_shc

    Cats most definitely do not like hats. What an inventive way to use your tossed aside cat hat!

  10. RosaMaria says:

    very cute and creative!!!
    love the wreath on your blackround!

  11. Pingback: What a Year for a New Year «

  12. Pingback: DIY Mini Birthday Party Hat Fascinator | her new leaf

Discuss!

