Primp My Blog: How Should I Save My Images?

I am weirdly excited about Primp My Blog today because this is a mistake I see being made by even experienced bloggers every day. Saving images in the proper file type is easy, and once you know which to use and when, your blog will look infinitely better!

There are three common image types that you see around the internet: gifs, jpgs, and pngs, each with its own pros and cons. Keep in mind that this is a very basic description but it should be plenty of information for the purposes of most bloggers.

Save this image! Pin it! Learn it! Live it!

Use a gif

…If your image has a relatively small number of colors. Gifs display a maximum of 256 colors, so they should be used for images with flat fields of color (without gradients) and should never be used for photos. One advantage of gifs is that you can create a transparent image so that the page background will show through.

Use a jpg

…When your image is a photo. Jpgs can be saved at several levels of compression. Compression reduces the size of the file (and thus creates a faster load time when they are displayed on your blog) but also reduces the quality of the image.

Use a png

…When your image combines flat fields of color and photos or otherwise requires smooth gradients of colors. Like a gif, a png can create transparency in images. The downside to pngs is that they are larger files and take longer to load. Your job as a blogger is to think about all of the images on your blog and decide on a balance between quality and file size.

If you’re still not sure which file type to use…

…Try them out! Save your images, upload them, see what they look like. If you see pixelation, distortion, or see that your image has lost color or clarity, try a different file type.

If you see this, you did it wrong!

So go, little primpers! Go out in the world and save your images properly! You can thank me later. ; )

This entry was posted in primp my blog, tutorial and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Primp My Blog: How Should I Save My Images?

  1. Melissa G says:

    Very helpful! Thank you Kira.

  2. Chance says:

    Super handy! It took me a while to figure out what to use PNG format for

  3. Hannah says:

    This is SO VERY HELPFUL! How did I never know this?! Keep up with this series, I love it!

  4. Marcus says:

    I love a girl who knows her file types and compression algorithms.

  5. Bene says:

    I had no idea what the difference was between them! I used to just save them all as jpegs. I won’t be doing that anymore! 🙂 Thanks for the advice.

  6. great post and corresponding images. I know those take forever to make. I really appreciate them. They really add so much to the post.

  7. Sofia says:

    i think your blog is absolutely lovely! i just got into pngs myself 🙂

  8. Cynthia says:

    Thanks for posting about this. As a new blogger I have soooo many questions. This was very helpful.

  9. great post! thank you so so much!!! ❤

  10. anja9688 says:

    I just stumbled upon this post and have to thank you so much for posting this! I just realized this is why it didnt show my header properly. PNGs ftw ! 🙂

  11. jummy79 says:

    Thank you for this! I will now go forward, saving images in the most appropriate format, now that I know the difference!

Discuss!

