DIY Valentine’s Day Gift: Hand-Painted Mugs

DIY Hand-Painted Valentine Mugs

Looking for a fun and easy handmade gift to give to your Valentine? Try your hand at creating a hand-painted mug! If these mugs look familiar, it’s because they’re similar to the yellow monogram mug I made for myself, as shown in my profile photo. A few years ago I made them as gifts for all of my roommates and they loved them!

They’re easy to make when you have the right materials!

DIY Hand-Painted Valentine Mugs

You will need:

• a ceramic mug (I got mine at the dollar store)
• a new, clean paintbrush
• enamel paint (available at most craft stores)

DIY Hand-Painted Valentine Mugs

Enamel paint is made for painting on various surfaces such as wood, glass, and ceramics. It comes in many colors so pick your favorite! Prepare your mug by wiping the surface clean with rubbing alcohol and allowing it to dry completely.

Use your paintbrush to apply your design or message. It is best to do this with both a wet and dry paper towel at your side, especially if you’re a perfectionist like me. If you make a mistake, quickly wipe the paint away with the wet towel, then use the dry towel to dry your surface again. Don’t be too picky, though, it’s supposed to look hand-drawn!

DIY Hand-Painted Valentine Mugs

Follow the directions on your paint bottle to “cure” the paint. Curing allows the paint to become mostly permanent. Your mugs will hold up to hand-washing in soap and water but should not be washed in the dishwasher.

My paint bottle told me to allow my paint to air-dry for 48 hours, then bake in the oven for 30 minutes at 325˚, but different brands of paint may have slightly different instructions, so read carefully. Many enamel paints are not food-safe, so they are fine to use on exterior surfaces, but you should avoid the lip or the inside of the mug where your mouth or drink will touch.

DIY Hand-Painted Valentine Mugs

These mugs would make great gifts stuffed with hot chocolate mix, candy or tea, or on their own with a heartfelt love note.

Are you planning on making a gift for your Valentine?

This entry was posted in crafts, tutorial and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DIY Valentine’s Day Gift: Hand-Painted Mugs

  1. My Valentine gifts usually revolve around cards and food. Your ‘love’ mug is tempting me, though…maybe this year I will up my game. Both mugs are adorable and I totally appreciate the balance you found between perfection and handmade charm.

  2. Hubs and I usually just go out to dinner on a night around Valentines to avoid the hiked up prices. No gifts. Your’s are so cute and practical though!

  3. John Petter says:

    Such a nice way to wish a Happy Valentine..

  4. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day! And a “Life-Update” | her new leaf

  5. penga says:

    Cute mugs! 🙂 love love ceramic paint. And I dunno how I wasn’t subscribed before but I just added you to my reader! Very pretty blog 🙂

  6. katie z says:

    what an adorable idea! I’m going to have to give it a try.

Discuss!

