DIY: World Market Lookalike Wooden Floor Lamp

As fellow west-coasters already know, Cost Plus World Market is a great resource for home decor on a budget. Their stock is an eclectic mix of ethnic-inspired pieces and uniquely-designed home decor, and I always love visiting and getting inspired by their stores.

When I spotted this simple wooden lamp from World Market on Pinterest, I knew right away that Marcus would love it; if he was on Emily Henderson‘s HGTV show, Secrets from a Stylist, his style diagnostic would be something like “semi-modern utilitarian.” We both loved how this wooden lamp was not only cool, but definitely DIY-able!

I thought this project would be perfect for John and Sherry’s latest Pinterest Challenge (I feel like I know them so well, so I call the Young House Love-rs by their first names), but wouldn’t you know it, Marcus beat me to the punch! He put this whole project together in one afternoon all on his own, only pausing to ask my input on a lamp shade. What a go-getter!

So, sadly, I don’t have step-by-step progress photos for this project, but it’s very simple! The only tool you will really need is a drill, you can get your wood cut to size at either Home Depot or Lowes. I put together this little diagram to show you the supplies you’ll need and how to put it all together.

Can you tell I am excellent at Draw Something?

Marcus decided to go with the “free-form” method of assembly and not measure a single piece of wood, but it worked out just fine. He used a cord kit from Ikea, a few pieces of wood, two bolts, and a wing nut to put this lamp together – I think it looks pretty good! He also added some wheels to the base so it can move around the house more easily. We topped it off with a drum shade from Target (I can’t find it on the website but it might still be in stores) and a fancy chrome light bulb.

Have you taken on any Pinterest-inspired projects lately?

This entry was posted in projects, tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to DIY: World Market Lookalike Wooden Floor Lamp

  1. Christine says:

    Kira – I love it! I want to make one….but where to put it in my itty bitty apartment would be the question.

  2. penga says:

    Oohh. This is awesome! Ill have to try this..I like that you gave it wheels too.

  3. Amanda says:

    I love it! It is so cute – I never would have thought to try to make that myself! 🙂

  4. That lamp is awesome! I seriously need to make one of these!

  5. Holly says:

    I love it! I can’t wait to finally go to a World Market when I’m in the States… haha! I think the closest one to me is 4 hours away (and in a different country, ha!).

  6. Marcus says:

    The key to eyeballing something is to try and average out your errors. If you find yourself drilling into the base plate a little off-center left, then try and drill into the main post a little off-center right. As someone who likes building but hates measuring, eyeball measurements are an art form.

  7. Nikki Kelly says:

    Omg! I totally thought the same thing when I saw that lamp. I even took a pic with my phone to remind me later. Yours turned out great btw. Maybe I’ll even make one someday!

  8. Emily says:

    Nice! I think your lamp actually looks better than the inspiration one! Good work!

    ~em at small girl, big world

  9. Dang girl! This looks awesome! I may have to steal this idea for my new living room 🙂 You just make everything look so easy! LOVE!

  10. Tamsyn says:

    I love this so much!! It looks amazing 🙂

Discuss!

