Weekly Journal: Rainy LA Weekend

Did you hear? This weekend it -gasp- rained in LA. Omigah! It was all over the local news, residents prepared their homes and yards, then it rained on and off for about twelve hours on Saturday. Oh boy, people here are nuts!

Last week Ruby tweeted about an event hosted by DailyBuzz Style. While I am certainly no style blogger, I figured maybe I could meet some bloggers and make some local connections. It was pretty much a total fail. I was so awkward and nervous about talking to super cool style bloggers! I tried to talk to one friendly looking girl and ended up awkwardly complimenting her bun for about five minutes, then walking away. I need to get better at this stuff! Regardless, it was really nice to see Ruby again, she is so sweet!

The good news is, earlier in the week, I had conquered a MAJOR closet purge, and felt that I had earned myself a new pair of jeans. I mentioned before that Madewell jeans are my favorite – I actually said that I would save them first if my house was on fire! My new jeans are just as awesome.

In preparation for the event, I threw together these little matchbook-style business cards with a tiny notebook inside. They’re super easy and cost me literally zero dollars to make, since I used supplies I already had around the house. Would you be interested in learning how to make them? I can put together a tutorial if you’d like!

After the rain, Marcus and I ventured outside to begin conquering our weed-infested yard. I also planted some seeds in our edible garden – I hadn’t gotten around to working on it yet this year! We also discovered that hundreds of these furry caterpillars have made our yard their home. Creepy, right??

Scout has been spending some time outside as well! When we adopted Scout, she had been found on the streets, probably having escaped from her home. She was starving, but quickly recovered, but she also showed her foster parents that she didn’t understand cat behavior well and was getting into scuffles with their other cats. For those reasons, and because we live in a neighborhood with lots of strays, we don’t feel comfortable letting her outside on her own.

But she is obsessed with the outdoors and had started trying to sneak out the door every time we were passing through, so we decided to try her out in a harness and leash. She doesn’t really walk like a dog on a leash, but we can at least keep a handle on her when she’s in the yard. She loves sniffing around, tasting grass, watching birds, and even tried to climb a few trees!

How was your weekend?

This entry was posted in livin life, weekly journal. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Weekly Journal: Rainy LA Weekend

  1. Gran says:

    Sounds like you have had an eventful weekend. Happy to be kept up to date!

  2. Love the tiny notebooks slash business cards. Bring on that tutorial!

  3. Christine says:

    Did you say rain? Pshh. that’s peanuts compared to New England. LOL!
    Kira – you are still a blogger no matter what!! Glad that you went to a blogger event. I know that you have been meaning to meet other bloggers in your area. I think I would have felt the same way. But every girl loves fashion or clothes – so you fit right in, girlie. I love your business cards-so cute! And yes, do the tute!

  4. Cal says:

    Sounds like a pretty good weekend! I loved the rain and wished it had kept up all weekend.

  5. Tabitha says:

    Your weekend sounds fun and those business cards are awesome!
    And, um, I might have a cat crush on Scout.
    Cute, cute, cute!

  6. Jessica Lynn says:

    What a fun weekend! I love seeing all of the pics on Pinterest and then reading about them on here—it’s like getting a tease and then figuring out the whole picture.

    I’m also digging those photo templates…mind sharing where they’re from?!

    • I actually don’t use templates for these – I just use the Free Transform tool in Photoshop, then add text!

      • Jessica Lynn says:

        Reallllly? Okay, I wish we lived closer so you could give me a quick tutorial on that! I’ll have to play around with it more. I have Elements and should probably read a book on what to do instead of just “winging it” here and there.

  7. Frankie says:

    Glad to see you got back into gardening! And I love all the polka dots going on in the madewell photos. I didn’t know madewell jeans were awesome, I’ll have to try and find a madewell by me since my favorite jeans developed holes in the upper thigh area. Your business cards are cute and the caterpillars look like mini rodents. And I’m pretty sure Scout would be best friends with Tony, as he’s an awkward more-dog than cat, cat too.

  8. joanne says:

    rain, glorious rain!! glad your world got watered and ready for spring!
    LOVE your fun business cards! very clever!
    scout= cute.
    love ya!

  9. Steph says:

    OMG look at Scout in the tree! She is ADORABLE! Our indoor kitties go out on harnesses from time to time, too. 🙂

  10. spwingal says:

    Love that Scout is tree climbing! I think she and Olliver would be good buddies – he needs someone to have an adventure with!

Discuss!

