Weekly Journal: LA Adventure!

Whew!! Did you notice my absence for the last few days? I’ve been having a whirlwind of a weekend! Marcus and I had two of our friends from college come out to visit us so we spent the weekend zipping around to different activities all around the city, reconnecting with other friends and enjoying our time together. It was great to see everyone, but I have to say, it did feel kinda nice to finally spend some quiet time alone in the house yesterday!

On Thursday, we took a trip to Six Flags Magic Mountain. It was a perfect day for roller coasters, the lines were so short, and we got to ride all the best rides! I have to say though, I may be getting a bit too old for a full day of roller coasters because the next day my back, neck and shoulders were so sore!! That night we had all of our local friends over for some barbecue and fire pit action.

Friday morning we ate a giant breakfast and set out for a genuine adventure! My parents gave M and me a Groupon for a sailing lesson a few months back, so we decided to cash it in while our friends were here. We toured around Redondo Beach, learned a bit about sailing, and tried to make friends with a seal! He wasn’t very glad to see us though, he barked to let us know that our boat was too close!

Of course, we had to try our luck at a few lottery numbers; spoiler alert: we didn’t win. But the little glimmer of hope definitely made for some fun conversations at the bar that night – I’m sure some of you had fun fantasizing about your millions, too!

Saturday was cold and blustery! We grabbed breakfast at our farmers market and picked up a few ingredients to make some snacks for later. We ended up spending the rest of the day back at the house as the wind kicked up and it started to rain.

On Sunday we drove up the coast to meet with Marc’s parents for brunch. These little turtles were hanging out in a pond outside of the restaurant. They must’ve been cold because they were all piling on top of the rocks to warm themselves in the sun – you can see I’m doing the same in the photo above! You can also probably tell by my hair that the wind stuck around through the rest of the weekend. We took a walk out to the pier to see that the waves were HUGE!

I definitely forget to take advantage of what my city has to offer sometimes, so it’s great to have visitors to remind you of all there is to see!

What adventures did you have this weekend?

This entry was posted in weekly journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Journal: LA Adventure!

  1. Shayla says:

    Ah, those little turtles are so cute! We had a turtle gathering place down by the lake in front of our house last spring and I hope it happens again this year so I can snag some pictures. 🙂

  2. Frankie says:

    I love your posts about your weekends. Glad to see you had such a great time and managed to snap some lovely photos.

  3. hope you saved some stuff for us to do when we’re out there. looks like you had a great weekend! was the seal really THAT close?

  4. hersunday says:

    Looks like so much fun! We had a lot of wind around here all weekend too. I think I’m getting too old for rollercoasters too. Last time we went to an amusement park I got so sick on the rides and that has never happened! Next time I’ll have to bring motion sickness pills just in case.

  5. came across your blog on a IFB post and I love it! great design, great content and soooo helpful! Thank youuuu!!

  6. what great pics!! and those turtles are sooo cute!!!

  7. Gran says:

    Sounds like a great weekend, Kir!! Nice to get together with friends…

    I spent mine working in the yard and getting the pond cleaned up. Beautiful weather for that, too.

  8. Heather says:

    I just want to let you know that I LOVE all your photos! They are so good and you put them together really nicely! Want to do some photo books for me?? 😉 And I love roller coasters. I just need to convince my husband that he won’t die on one!

Discuss!

