Primp My Blog Challenge: Spring Cleaning for Your Blog

Spring has sprung! Have you started your spring cleaning yet? Extend it to your blog! I know I have been putting off a few organizational tasks for far too long – accept my challenge and tidy up your blog this week!

Your sidebar can be a great place to display additional information about yourself and your blog, but it can also quickly become a cluttered mess of buttons, badges, and links. Take a look at your sidebar and pare it down the the bare essentials. Do you really need that Twitter feed widget? That blogroll with your fifty favorite blogs? You may want to consider moving some of your sidebar information to external pages and simply add a link.

Improving the navigation of your blog is one of the best ways to get readers to stick around on your blog for longer. Take this opportunity to streamline your tags! You really only need 7-8 categories, and the more simplified your content is, the easier it will be for readers to discover posts they will enjoy. Once your categories are organized, make them easy to access by adding text links or buttons to your (newly cleaned) sidebar.

Click on all of the links in your navigation menus and sidebar: do they take you where they should? Just last night, I was checking on my Bloglovin’ followers and wondering why people were still subscribing to my old URL. It was because I never updated my widget when I moved to my new domain! Incorrect links can cause your readers to get lost and frustrated, and you don’t want that!

  • Clean out your blog reader: get rid of blogs you don’t read and add the ones you’ve been meaning to.
  • Check that your pins on Pinterest link back to their original sources.
  • Trim down your “following” list on Twitter.
  • And if you’re feeling really ambitious: tackle that mess on your hard drive!

Will you take on my challenge? Brag about your hard work in the comments and post a link so we can all check it out!

This entry was posted in primp my blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Primp My Blog Challenge: Spring Cleaning for Your Blog

  1. Katie says:

    I have the worrrrrrrrrrrst habits when it comes to categorizing. I’ve been planning alllllll week to take some time and do some organizing, and change the theme (had it for 4 years almost). But nice blog, Kira! I’ve been reading for a while.

  2. Danielle says:

    I’m taking a lot of time this week to work on my blog categories! I’m hoping to narrow down to about 20 so we’ll see how that goes. Also, I’m planning on re-designing the blog in the next few weeks with a double sidebar layout so I’m excited for that!

  3. safemooring says:

    I have been meaning to do this for ages, especially tidying up my tags – I have a nice long weekend off work, so seems like the perfect time! (If I can find time in between stuffing my face with chocolate eggs, that is.)

  4. Frankie says:

    This has been on my to do list for forever. Perhaps I’ll actually do it now that I have a nice “how to” provided by your post.

    Have you been enjoying your reeses eggs this season? I saw some at the store the other night and thought of you.

    • I really need to update my project gallery as well – it’s been a great way for people to check out related content, I just can never remember to update it!

      And yes, I’ve been hoarding them and doling them out over time. Must conserve! ; )

      • Frankie says:

        It’s funny, after reading your post, I started to go through my google reader. I got to blogs starting with c before I gave up and decided to do it a few letters at a day. πŸ™‚

  5. I definitely did this just a few days ago and used your blog and a few others for help! Gotta love Spring Cleaning for the blog. I went for a little more of a professional look, cut down on my links in the sidebar, added buttons for social networking sites instead of my annoying widgets, and finally created a watermark for my pictures!

    Whew πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful holiday!

  6. loveandrenovations says:

    This is definitely something I need to do! I’ve done some work on my blog lately, but I have lots more I want to do – I just need to find the time!

  7. Liz says:

    I need to work on this….hmmm….Challenge half accepted?

  8. Christine says:

    spring cleaning…I dread it… especially for my blog. BUT I do need to do it. I have the hardest time with the tags tags tags tags… I probably have 50ish. And your bonus points list? Fughettaboutit!!
    Christine
    delachic

  9. Odette says:

    I’ve just Spring Cleaned my blog. I haven’t post for some time and I felt it would be best to start a fresh with a new theme and removed my old theme. It took some time for me to decide in which direction I wanted my design to go into, but I now done most of it. I just need to fix some minor details before I go back into blogging.

  10. ProfT says:

    Uhhg… I so need to do this. I so don’t want to. Boo to me. Good idea though! I will put it on my growing to-do list πŸ˜‰

  11. heatherleopard says:

    I just wrote this long post about how grateful I am for your Primp My Blog feature and how I just took mine from a odd header that didn’t fit the length of my blog and a distracting blog template to what I have now. Still have lots of work to do on the RH nav but I’m happy where it’s at now. Thanks for the inspiration and guidance. I am open to recommendations via contact me on my blog. http://thespottedleopard.blogspot.com/

  12. chyrondave says:

    Great suggestions. My biggest problem is I tend to over categorize. I’ll have to look at weeding that down at some point.

  13. this is really great information. thanks to you for putting this out there to challenge us to be better bloggers. and congrats on fp.

  14. morgan says:

    Taking the challenge Kirs! Thanks for the tips XO-mo

  15. Lisa Jochim says:

    I’m new to blogging. I still don’t know how to put tags on or linky whatevers or widgets. I’m going to try to sit down and figure this out. All the pros say how easy it is. 😦 Then, I’ll start with a new fresh design more like me not a standard box one I’ve been using. Thanks for the motivation. Lisa

    http://americangirlinholland.blogspot.com/

  16. Linds says:

    Hi Kira – I love love love your blog. Have to run for now but I got to read a few posts and can’t wait to catch up on more later. Keep it up πŸ™‚ I especially love the social media tips as I’m a newbie to blogging. Take care.

  17. Your post motivated me to (FINALLY) go through and start adding my links to the bottom of all my posts. UUuuuuugggghhhhh – I know this will take forever but a little bit every day is the best method.

  18. Brittany says:

    I’ve spent some time updating my categories in the past, but it’s definitely something I need to start doing again! I don’t know why I started to slack in that area!

Discuss!

